Coupon
The Last Gargoyle
by Paul Durham


Overview - Fans of Jonathan Auxier's The Night Gardener and Neil Gaiman's The Graveyard Book will tremble with delight for this haunting tale about a lonely gargoyle who isn't alone at all.

Penhallow is the last of his kind.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $16.99
  • $11.38
    (Save 33%)
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 9.10
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 18 copies from $7.25
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Last Gargoyle by Paul Durham
 
 
 
Overview
Fans of Jonathan Auxier's The Night Gardener and Neil Gaiman's The Graveyard Book will tremble with delight for this haunting tale about a lonely gargoyle who isn't alone at all.

Penhallow is the last of his kind. The stone gargoyle--he'd prefer you call him a grotesque--fearlessly protects his Boston building from the spirits who haunt the night. But even he is outmatched when Hetty, his newest ward, nearly falls victim to the Boneless King, the ruler of the underworld.

Then there's Viola, the mysterious girl who keeps turning up at the most unlikely times. In a world where nightmares come to life, Viola could be just the ally Penhallow needs. But can he trust her when every shadow hides another secret? Can he afford not to?

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781524700201
  • ISBN-10: 1524700207
  • Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: January 2018
  • Page Count: 288
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.8 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fantasy & Magic
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Monsters
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Friendship

 
BookPage Reviews

Hoodie-clad hero

Paul Durham, author of the Luck Uglies series, masterfully draws readers into his new book, The Last Gargoyle, with a cryptic first chapter that ends with a disturbing question: “What goes bump in the night? If you’re lucky, I do.”

And so we are introduced to Penhallow, the last gargoyle, whose mission is to tirelessly watch over his domain—the aged Boston apartment building on which he’s perched—and to protect its residents from all things dangerous and evil. Penhallow has scant memory of being anything but a block of stone with wings, claws and eyes that gleam with the light of life. He can shape-shift at will—at times assuming the form of a humanlike wisp in jeans and hoodie, other times becoming a teeth-gnashing, Netherkin-eating monster.

The city Penhallow inhabits churns with hostile energy. Penhallow can sense it, but he doesn’t know how to vanquish it. He can handle the Netherkins one or two at a time, but when he discovers he is up against the ruler of the underworld, the evil Boneless King, it will take all his strength—and the help of a new friend—to defeat him.

A tale of love, life, evil and death seems heady stuff for young readers, but they will relish it as fully as Penhallow relishes swallowing imps and Netherkins.

 

This article was originally published in the January 2018 issue of BookPage. Download the entire issue for the Kindle or Nook.

 
BAM Customer Reviews