Coupon
Last Train to Babylon
by Charlee Fam


Overview -

Fans of Alice Sebold and John Green will be transfixed by this sophisticated, edgy debut novel packing dark humor, biting wit, and a lot of Jack Daniels.

Who put the word fun in funeral ? I can't think of anything fun about Rachel's funeral, except for the fact that she won't be there.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $14.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 11.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 40 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Last Train to Babylon by Charlee Fam
 
 
 
Overview

Fans of Alice Sebold and John Green will be transfixed by this sophisticated, edgy debut novel packing dark humor, biting wit, and a lot of Jack Daniels.

Who put the word fun in funeral? I can't think of anything fun about Rachel's funeral, except for the fact that she won't be there.

Aubrey Glass has a collection of potential suicide notes--just in case. And now, five years--and five notes--after leaving her hometown, Rachel's the one who goes and kills herself. Aubrey can't believe her luck.

But Rachel's death doesn't leave Aubrey in peace. There's a voicemail from her former friend, left only days before her death, that Aubrey can't bring herself to listen to--and worse, a macabre memorial-turned-high-school reunion that promises the opportunity to catch up with everyone . . . including the man responsible for everything that went wrong between Aubrey and Rachel.

In the days leading up to the funeral and infamous after party, Aubrey slips seamlessly between her past and present. Memories of friendship tangle with painful new encounters while underneath it all Aubrey feels the rush of something closing in, something she can no longer run from. And when the past and present collide in one devastating night, nothing will be the same again.

But facing the future means confronting herself and a shattering truth. Now, Aubrey must decide what will define her: what lies behind . . . or what waits ahead.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062328076
  • ISBN-10: 0062328077
  • Publisher: William Morrow & Company
  • Publish Date: October 2014
  • Page Count: 352
  • Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.3 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.6 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Contemporary Women
Books > Fiction > Coming of Age
Books > Fiction > Literary

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-11-03
  • Reviewer: Staff

Fam portrays early twenty-something arrested development in her somewhat bleak debut. Aubrey, living in Manhattan with a boyfriend she's more or less satisfied with, working for a news site she doesn't despise, is probably doing as well as could be expected for someone her age, even if she does drink too much and have passing thoughts of suicide. She thinks she's escaped her Long Island upbringing and the friends and foes of her youth, but when she learns that her high school best friend, Rachel, has committed suicide, the past comes rushing back. Torn over whether to attend the funeral, Aubrey feels compelled to return to her hometown anyway—and smack into the memories of what drove her and Rachel apart. Events surrounding Rachel's funeral and disastrous "after party" alternate with those leading up to Rachel and Aubrey's senior year falling out, illustrating how those events still loom large in Aubrey's consciousness, even years later. Unfortunately, the attempts to build intrigue by delaying the revelation of a particular horrific event in Aubrey's past often just make the narrative feel artificially drawn out and sluggish rather than suspenseful. Aubrey and Rachel's story does, however, illustrate the complicated and often inscrutable nature of high school girls' volatile relationships and their long-lasting scars. (Oct.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews