Leaving Berlin
by Joseph Kanon

Overview - "New York Times "Notable Book * NPR Best Books 2015 * "Wall Street Journal" Best Books of 2015
The acclaimed author of "The Good German " deftly captures the ambience ("The New York Times Book Review") of postwar East Berlin in his thought-provoking, pulse-pounding ("Wall Street Journal) New York Times "bestseller a sweeping spy thriller about a city caught between political idealism and the harsh realities of Soviet occupation.

  • $27.00

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

New & Used Marketplace 58 copies from $3.99

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.

More About Leaving Berlin by Joseph Kanon
"New York Times "Notable Book * NPR Best Books 2015 * "Wall Street Journal" Best Books of 2015
The acclaimed author of "The Good German " deftly captures the ambience ("The New York Times Book Review") of postwar East Berlin in his thought-provoking, pulse-pounding ("Wall Street Journal) New York Times "bestseller a sweeping spy thriller about a city caught between political idealism and the harsh realities of Soviet occupation.
Berlin, 1948. Almost four years after the war s end, the city is still in ruins, a physical wasteland and a political symbol about to rupture. In the West, a defiant, blockaded city is barely surviving on airlifted supplies; in the East, the heady early days of political reconstruction are being undermined by the murky compromises of the Cold War. Espionage, like the black market, is a fact of life. Even culture has become a battleground, with German intellectuals being lured back from exile to add credibility to the competing sectors.
Alex Meier, a young Jewish writer, fled the Nazis for America before the war. But the politics of his youth have now put him in the crosshairs of the McCarthy witch-hunts. Faced with deportation and the loss of his family, he makes a desperate bargain with the fledgling CIA: he will earn his way back to America by acting as their agent in his native Berlin. But almost from the start things go fatally wrong. A kidnapping misfires, an East German agent is killed, and Alex finds himself a wanted man. Worse, he discovers his real assignment to spy on the woman he left behind, the only woman he has ever loved. Changing sides in Berlin is as easy as crossing a sector border. But where do we draw the lines of our moral boundaries? At betrayal? Survival? Murder? Joseph Kanon s compelling thriller is a love story that brilliantly brings a shadowy period of history vividly to life."

  • ISBN-13: 9781476704647
  • ISBN-10: 1476704643
  • Publisher: Atria Books
  • Publish Date: March 2015
  • Page Count: 384

Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Suspense
Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Espionage
Books > Fiction > Literary

Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-02-09
  • Reviewer: Staff

In his new novel, Kanon (Istanbul Passage) stays firmly in his traditional milieu—intrigue in post-World War II Europe—with this solid story about a German emigre, Alex Meier, returning to the divided city of East Berlin in 1949. It's not an entirely voluntary return for Meier, a successful novelist who had been working in Hollywood: a refusal to testify about Communists before Congress results in the forced repatriation; if he wants to return to the States, he must become a spy. The book is full of real-life historical figures, mostly writers like Bertolt Brecht, Arnold Zweig, and Ruth Berlau who are, like the fictional Meier, warmly welcomed home by the Communists. Meier's assignment is to spy on the cultural apparatus of East Germany and, in particular, to investigate a state security bigwig, Major General Maltsev, the consort of Elspeth von Bernuth, one of his childhood friends. There's a fair amount of action, including a shootout in a dark street that results in a shocking act of violence, but the appeal of the book is how it conjures the atmosphere of post-War Europe, in the vein of Alan Furst and David Downing. There's too much backstory and the period details sometimes bog down the narrative, but once all the pieces are in place the story hits its stride. Kanon likes to wrestle with the moral dimensions of spying (a la le Carré)—and what's more, he's very good at it. Agent: Amanda Urban, ICM Partners. (Mar.)

BookPage Reviews

Whodunit: To the depths of a parent's worst nightmare

Bryan Reardon’s fiction debut, Finding Jake, pushes all the right buttons: a timely, ripped-from-the-headlines premise; grab-you-by-the-collar pacing; and a cast of troubled, finely drawn and sympathetic characters. We have all watched raw news footage of horrifying events like this too many times in recent years: a mass murder at a Pennsylvania high school, with one alleged gunman dead by his own hand and the other, Jake Connolly, missing. Stay-at-home dad Simon Connolly cannot believe his son capable of the acts attributed to him by the media and the parents of the slain students, but the evidence is damning: Jake’s “loner” demeanor; violent texts found in his cell phone archive; and worst of all, his blood spatter found at the scene of the carnage. The police appear not the slightest bit interested in finding a “missing teenager”—they want to “apprehend the suspect”—so Simon launches his own search for Jake, hoping against hope that his knowledge of his son will lead him to the boy before the police can run him to ground. Simon recounts this story in the first person, cutting from Jake’s infancy to the modern day, ratcheting up the tension with each successive chapter. This is an uncommon retelling of an all-too-common contemporary American story.

The year 1950 marked the release of a film noir classic, D.O.A., the strange tale told in flashback of a man investigating his own soon-to-be-fatal poisoning by a “luminous toxin” for which there is no antidote. Olen Steinhauer’s modern-day espionage novel, All the Old Knives, offers an equally noir story set almost entirely at a trendy bistro in Carmel-by-the-Sea, California, where two ex-spies/ex-lovers play a lethal game of cat-and-mouse over hors d’oeuvres and Chardonnay. At issue is the botched handling of an airliner hijacking six years before—and a few loose ends that could expose the truth behind the narrative that has been tacitly accepted over the years. At least one of the dining pair has some guilty knowledge—perhaps complicity—of the fallout of the hijacking, which resulted in the deaths of 120-odd passengers and crewmembers. Steinhauer displays an affinity for espionage, closed-room suspense and plot twists, placing him definitively in the first rank of modern mystery writers.

The latest installment of James Carlos Blake’s acclaimed Wolfe Family saga, The House of Wolfe, finds narrator Rudy Wolfe and several members of his outlaw family headed south of the border to rescue a kidnapped cousin, held for ransom along with 10 members of a Mexican high-society wedding party. There are no “good guys” here, although there are some that the reader will root for over others. The bad guys, on the other hand, are truly bad, including an unscrupulous financier with his hand in every illegal pie to be found in Mexico City, and a truly poisonous interrogator whose fiendish imagination is matched only by his sociopathic tendencies (this fellow, it should be mentioned, is in the employ of the protagonists). Blake’s literary suspense novels are firmly rooted in the hard-edged, morally ambiguous tradition established by Elmore Leonard, James Crumley and James Ellroy. Fast-paced, atmospheric, violent and relentlessly cinematic, The House of Wolfe is not to be missed.

A handful of contemporary espionage writers can be counted on to deliver complex and unerringly atmospheric historical suspense novels each time they put pen to paper. Philip Kerr, David Downing and Alan Furst jump to mind, but no such list would be complete without Joseph Kanon, whose Leaving Berlin weaves together a pair of seemingly unconnected but pivotal events of the early post-WWII era: the Berlin airlift of 1948-1949 and the Communist witch hunts of the McCarthy era. The glue that binds these events is Jewish writer Alex Meier, who escaped from the Nazis to find asylum in the U.S., only to have the rug pulled out from under him thanks to his Communist leanings in his youth. He manages to broker an eleventh-hour deal to go back to his native Berlin in the employ of the U.S. intelligence service. If he is successful in his espionage efforts, his past will be conveniently expunged, and he will be allowed to remain in the States. As you might imagine with a first-rate spy novel, that will turn out to be a big if, and there is a fair bit of double-crossing (with the inevitable bloodshed in its wake). Interestingly, Kanon introduces real-life characters in the book, such as poet/playwright Bertolt “Bert” Brecht, although Kanon offers the disclaimer that these characters “appear only as I imagine them to have been.” If one were to ask fans today which book Kanon is best known for, the answer would have to be 2001’s The Good German. Pose that same question a year from now, and the answer will be Leaving Berlin.


This article was originally published in the March 2015 issue of BookPage. Download the entire issue for the Kindle or Nook.

BAM Customer Reviews