Coupon
The Lifeboat Clique
by Kathy Parks


Overview - Mean Girls meets Life of Pi in this darkly humorous, compulsively readable teen novel that’s perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Andrew Smith. A hilariously dark and twisted story that sparkles with a remarkably fresh voice, The Lifeboat Clique is Kathy Parks's irreverent yet insightful novel about how to survive in the most unthinkable circumstances.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 33 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Lifeboat Clique by Kathy Parks
 
 
 
Overview
Mean Girls meets Life of Pi in this darkly humorous, compulsively readable teen novel that’s perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Andrew Smith. A hilariously dark and twisted story that sparkles with a remarkably fresh voice, The Lifeboat Clique is Kathy Parks's irreverent yet insightful novel about how to survive in the most unthinkable circumstances.

Some people might say that Denver has a death wish. Why else would she dare to sneak into a Malibu beach party where she’d be surrounded by enemies?

Oh yeah. Croix. Denver never thought in a million years he’d ask her out, but who is she to question this miracle of fate?

Well, that isn’t the only surprise fate has in store.

During the party a tsunami hits the coast of California, and Denver and a handful of others escape death and are swept out to sea. Of course, one of her fellow castaways is none other than her ex-BFF, Abigail, who can barely stand the sight of her.

Trapped on a small boat with the most popular kids in school and waiting to be rescued, Denver wonders what might kill her first—dehydration, sunstroke, or the girl she used to think of as a sister?

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062393968
  • ISBN-10: 0062393960
  • Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
  • Publish Date: March 2016
  • Page Count: 336
  • Reading Level: Ages 13-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.7 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds


Related Categories

Books > > Social Themes - Friendship
Books > > Social Themes - Bullying
Books > > Social Themes - Dating & Sex

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-12-14
  • Reviewer: Staff

Denver Reynolds, 16, is an outcast at school, while her former best friend, Abigail, somehow made the leap to the popular crowd. After a small earthquake, Abigail throws a party at an empty house in Malibu, and Denver crashes it. When a bigger earthquake hits, it sends a tsunami sweeping across Malibu. Abigail, Denver, and several other popular kids end up stuck in a lifeboatbickering, freaking out, and sometimes leaning on each other. Parks (the author of Sisters of Shiloh and other novels for adults as Kathy Hepinstall) gives Denver a whip-smart, hilarious voice as she delivers sardonic commentary on popularity and their dwindling hopes of survival (I cant recommend apocalypse in the springtime highly enough). Part adventure, part sly critique of high school politics, Parkss novel only dips during flashbacks to Denvers collapsing friendship with Abigail. Its a sweet, moving novel about loss, friendship, and the will to both live and forgive. Ages 13up. Agent: Mollie Glick, Foundry Literary + Media. (Mar.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews