Coupon
Lily the Unicorn
by Dallas Clayton


Overview -

Lily the unicorn loves making new friends and going on adventures So when Lily meets her new pal, Roger the penguin, she plans all sorts of fun for them. But Roger is afraid of trying new things. What if he tries and fails? In this sweet story about friendship, Lily teaches young readers that the world is a fun, amazing place.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $17.99
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 16.19

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 19 copies from $8.90
 
 
 

More About Lily the Unicorn by Dallas Clayton
 
 
 
Overview

Lily the unicorn loves making new friends and going on adventures So when Lily meets her new pal, Roger the penguin, she plans all sorts of fun for them. But Roger is afraid of trying new things. What if he tries and fails? In this sweet story about friendship, Lily teaches young readers that the world is a fun, amazing place. Fans of An Awesome Book and An Awesome Book of Love will be thrilled by Dallas Clayton's delightful picture book filled with lively and detailed illustrations.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062116680
  • ISBN-10: 0062116681
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publish Date: April 2014
  • Page Count: 48
  • Reading Level: Ages 4-8


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - New Experience
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Friendship
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Animals - Dragons, Unicorns & Mythical

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-04-14
  • Reviewer: Staff

Clayton (A Is for Awesome) introduces a pink-and-blue unicorn with enough joie de vivre to power an entire kingdom. Despite Lily's boundless enthusiasm for activities that range from playing instruments to baking cake, her new penguin friend Roger doesn't like to do much of anything at all. His favorite sport is "resting," and he only begrudgingly accompanies Lily on her expeditions, his brow perpetually furrowed. Clayton crowds his pages with tiny illustrations that show Lily's numerous interests and friends, as well as her futile attempts to interest Roger in riding an elephant, flying in a hot-air balloon, and giving away presents (to a green slug monster), among dozens and dozens of other things to do. Lily's ungainly appearance—her skinny limbs, tubular torso, and elongated snout don't exactly scream "majestic"—makes her tennis playing and scuba diving all the funnier. Bubbly, chaotically arranged type mimics Lily's higgledy-piggledy, larger-than-life personality. Roger's stick-in-the-mud attitude (it turns out to be rooted in anxiety) is a welcome foil for Lily's relentless optimism, which, as any reader who has had a bad day knows, can be overwhelming. Ages 4–8. (Apr.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews