Coupon
Little Blue Chair
by Cary Fagan and Madeline Kloepper


Overview - A sweet, whimsical tale that chronicles the journey of a chair as it changes hands and uses. Perfect for fans of The Good Little Book , Something for Nothing and Virginia Lee Burton's The Little House .

Boo's favorite chair is little and blue.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $16.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 17 copies from $9.78
 
 
 

More About Little Blue Chair by Cary Fagan; Madeline Kloepper
 
 
 
Overview
A sweet, whimsical tale that chronicles the journey of a chair as it changes hands and uses. Perfect for fans of The Good Little Book, Something for Nothing and Virginia Lee Burton's The Little House.

Boo's favorite chair is little and blue. He sits in it, reads in it and makes a tent around it...until the day he grows too big for it. His mother puts the little blue chair out on the lawn where a truck driver picks it up. The truck driver sells it to a lady in a junk store where it sits for many years until it's sold and put to use as a plant stand. In the years that follow, the little blue chair is used in many other ways -- on an elephant ride, in a contest, on a Ferris wheel, in a tree...until the day it flies away, borne aloft by balloons, and lands in a garden of daffodils where a familiar face finds it.
A charming, beautifully illustrated read-aloud that follows the adventures of a little chair, beginning as the seat of a small child who loves books and circling back to that child's child many years (and bottoms) later.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781770497559
  • ISBN-10: 1770497552
  • Publisher: Tundra Books (NY)
  • Publish Date: January 2017
  • Page Count: 40
  • Reading Level: Ages 3-7
  • Dimensions: 8.81 x 10.44 x 0.44 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Imagination & Play
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - General
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Recycling & Green Living

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-12-12
  • Reviewer: Staff

A boys favorite blue chair finds a wealth of new purposes as its passed from one temporary owner to another, over many years and miles. After the boy, Boo, outgrows the chair, his mother puts it out on the curb with a sign that reads, Please take me, launching a chain of events that sees the chair pressed into service as a plant stand, bird feeder, a chair for elephant rides, and a replacement seat on a Ferris wheel (the latter two uses being more whimsical than entirely safe, perhaps). Newcomer Kloepper works in a quiet palette of muddied green, red, mustard, and gray-blue, and she stocks her charming scenes of houseboats, amusement parks, and homes with a multitude of objects that invite close perusaland which, like Boos chair, might have their own intriguing histories and futures. Fagan (I Wish I Could Draw) cant resist a full-circle ending involving an adult Boo: this is, at heart, a romantic story, one that makes a lovely case for finding value and utility in secondhand items, and for sharing them when they are no longer needed. Ages 37. (Jan.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews