Coupon
A Little Book for New Theologians : Why and How to Study Theology
by Kelly M. Kapic


Overview - Whenever we read, think, hear or say anything about God, we are doing theology. Yet theology isn't just a matter of what we think. It affects who we are. In the tradition of Helmut Thielicke's A Little Exercise for Young Theologians, Kelly Kapic offers a concise introduction to the study of theology for newcomers to the field.  Read more...

 
In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 22 copies from $6.00
 
eBook
Retail Price: $8.99
$5.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

Download

 
 
 

More About A Little Book for New Theologians by Kelly M. Kapic
 
 
 
Overview
Whenever we read, think, hear or say anything about God, we are doing theology. Yet theology isn't just a matter of what we think. It affects who we are. In the tradition of Helmut Thielicke's A Little Exercise for Young Theologians, Kelly Kapic offers a concise introduction to the study of theology for newcomers to the field. He highlights the value and importance of theological study and explains its unique nature as a serious discipline. Not only concerned with content and method, Kapic explores the skills, attitudes and spiritual practices needed by those who take up the discipline. This brief, clear and lively primer draws out the relevance of theology for Christian life, worship, mission, witness and more. "Theology is about life," writes Kapic. "It is not a conversation our souls can afford to avoid."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780830839759
  • ISBN-10: 0830839755
  • Publisher: IVP Academic
  • Publish Date: August 2012
  • Page Count: 126


Related Categories

Books > Religion > Christian Theology - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2012-08-13
  • Reviewer: Staff

Written for seminary students, this book is subtitled Why and How to Study Theology. Author Kapic, a theology professor, looks at the public and private lives of the spiritual people serving God, using Scripture, reason, tradition, and experience to look at spirituality. “Growing in our knowledge of God changes our view of everything else,” Kapic argues. In a very short book he draws on sources as diverse as the church fathers (Anselm, Origen of Alexandria, Augustine, Gregory Nazianzus), the writers of contemporary religion books (C.S. Lewis and Miroslav Volf), and the Book of Common Prayer used in the Episcopal Church. Worship is a central theme of the book because it is central to those who would be leaders in a church. His chapters on prayer and good knowledge of the Bible are central to teaching others how to live in and lead a church. While the author aims at a narrow audience, this book has appeal to anyone interested in a foundation in theology. (Sept.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews