Locked Down
by Dr. John

  • $19.98
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 15.98
Sorry: This item is not currently available.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About Locked Down by Dr. John

Track Listing

1 Locked Down
2 Revolution
3 Big Shot
4 Ice Age
5 Getaway
6 Kingdom of Izzness
7 You Lie
8 Eleggua
9 My Children, My Angels
10 God's Sure Good

Genre: Oldies
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Release Date: April 2012
  • Label: Nonesuch (USA)
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Producer: Dan Auerbach
  • Engineer: Collin Dupuis
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (p.63) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Full of muscled, vintage R&B grooves, fevered soloing, psychedelic arrangements and oracular mumbo jumbo, it's the wildest record Rebennack has made in many years."

Entertainment Weekly (p.72) - "[T]here's no denying the vintage voodoo -- or the palpable disgust -- the Doctor summons with DAn Auerbach of the Black Keys..." -- Grade: A-

Uncut (p.62) - "Throughout, Weissenfeldt's beats are savage. The horn accents are sharp and soulful."

Magnet (p.54) - "The result is sharp and well-recorded....The urgent grooves on 'Getaway,' with its psychedelic flourishes, will sound good on the radio..."

Billboard (p.36) - "'Eleggua' overlaps Curtis Mayfield, gris-gris funk and a sweet soul hook; and 'You Lie' offers a taste of what Dr. John would sound like if the Black Keys and Morphine joined forces to back him."

Q (Magazine) (p.96) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "It still oozes that very specific, seamy Dr John funk throughout, from the brilliantly delirious title track through to his pitch black state-of-the nation address in 'Ice Age'..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.93) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he night tripping grooves are tight, cosmically inclined, and brewed with a real soulfulness."

Customer Reviews