Coupon
The Lost Girl of Astor Street
by Stephanie Morrill


Overview -

When her best friend vanishes without so much as a good-bye, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth in an attempt to solve the mystery of Lydia's disappearance. Given that Piper's tendency has always been to butt heads with high-society's expectations of her, it's no surprise that she doesn't give a second thought to searching for answers to Lydia's abduction from their privileged neighborhood.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 30 copies from $5.00
 
 
 

More About The Lost Girl of Astor Street by Stephanie Morrill
 
 
 
Overview

When her best friend vanishes without so much as a good-bye, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth in an attempt to solve the mystery of Lydia's disappearance. Given that Piper's tendency has always been to butt heads with high-society's expectations of her, it's no surprise that she doesn't give a second thought to searching for answers to Lydia's abduction from their privileged neighborhood.

As Piper discovers that those answers might stem from the corruption strangling 1924 Chicago--and quite possibly lead back to the doors of her affluent neighborhood--she must decide how deep she's willing to dig, how much she should reveal, and if she's willing to risk her life of privilege for the sake of the truth.

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, Stephanie Morrill's atmospheric jazz-age mystery will take readers from the glitzy homes of the elite to the dark underbelly of 1920s Chicago.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780310758389
  • ISBN-10: 0310758386
  • Publisher: Blink
  • Publish Date: February 2017
  • Page Count: 352
  • Reading Level: Ages 13-17
  • Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.7 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.95 pounds


Related Categories

Books > > Historical - United States - 20th Century
Books > > Mysteries & Detective Stories
Books > > Romance - Historical

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-11-21
  • Reviewer: Staff

Chicago, 1924. With Prohibition in full swing, the city is full of mobsters, illegal gin joints, cops on the take, and professionals who benefit from criminal activity. Piper Sail, 18, has a privileged life on Astor Street in Chicagos tony Gold Coast neighborhood, but when her best friend Lydia is kidnapped, Piperwho has always been considered a bad influence by her teachers and peers due to her independent and often reckless behaviortakes it upon herself to solve the crime. She teams up with detective Mariano Cassano to find out what happened to Lydia, uncovering unsavory information about her neighbors, her new crush (the detective), and even her own family. Morrill (the Ellie Sweet series) crafts a well-plotted mystery novel with plenty of twists, turns, and red herrings. Pipers determination and attitude make her an engaging protagonist, though her mix of naiveté and nerve can make her character seem inconsistent. Though this is an entertaining mystery, one doesnt feel especially connected to the time and place in which it is set. Ages 13up. Agent: Sandra Bishop, Transatlantic Literary. (Feb.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews