Coupon
Love in Lowercase
by Francesc Miralles and Julie Wark


Overview -

A feel-good novel for fans of A Man Called Ove and The Rosie Project, about an eccentric, language-loving bachelor and the cat that opens his eyes to life's little pleasures

The Silver Linings Playbook author Matthew Quick:
"A delightfully absurd, life-affirming celebration.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $16.00

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 41 copies from $2.99
 
 
 

More About Love in Lowercase by Francesc Miralles; Julie Wark
 
 
 
Overview

A feel-good novel for fans of A Man Called Ove and The Rosie Project, about an eccentric, language-loving bachelor and the cat that opens his eyes to life's little pleasures

The Silver Linings Playbook author Matthew Quick:
"A delightfully absurd, life-affirming celebration. I literally stood up and cheered as I read the last page."

When Samuel, a lonely linguistics lecturer, wakes up on New Year's Day, he is convinced that the year ahead will bring nothing more than passive verbs and un-italicized moments--until an unexpected visitor slips into his Barcelona apartment and refuses to leave. The appearance of Mishima, a stray, brindle-furred cat, becomes the catalyst that leads Samuel from the comforts of his favorite books, foreign films, and classical music to places he's never been (next door) and to people he might never have met (a neighbor with whom he's never exchanged a word). Even better, the Catalan cat leads him back to the mysterious Gabriela, whom he thought he'd lost long before, and shows him, in this international bestseller for fans of The Rosie Project, The Solitude of Prime Numbers, and A Man Called Ove, that sometimes love is hiding in the smallest characters.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780143128212
  • ISBN-10: 0143128213
  • Publisher: Penguin Books
  • Publish Date: January 2016
  • Page Count: 240
  • Dimensions: 7.6 x 5 x 0.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.4 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Humorous - General
Books > Fiction > Romance - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-12-14
  • Reviewer: Staff

This novel, the quirky tale of Barcelona linguistics professor Samuel, a mysterious cat named Mishima, and the bumpy road to love, is an international bestseller in its original Spanish edition. As the tale begins on New Years Eve, Samuel is predicting that the coming year will be as uneventful and predictable as those that preceded ituntil a cat mysteriously shows up at his apartment and makes itself at home. While seeking to find out where the cat came from, Samuel meets eccentric neighbors, rediscovers a childhood love, and ultimately comes to realize that love can be found anywhere, if one looks for it. Miralless endearing romantic comedy should become as big a hit Stateside as it has been elsewhere in the world. (Jan.)

 
BookPage Reviews

Taking small steps toward love

In Love in Lowercase, Samuel lives a quiet life based on routine. He’s a loner in every sense of the word: His family interactions are perfunctory, not pleasant. A professor, he teaches about great stories and tortured characters, but his own life is quite shallow and plotless—until a cat wanders through the front door of his Barcelona apartment and changes his life, inviting in love, friendship and even a little bit of adventure.

Inspired by his new cat, Samuel begins to reach beyond his comfort zone. He cultivates friendships with a vet, a neighbor and people he meets at a bar. Of course, a book with “love” in the title wouldn’t be complete without romance, and when Samuel meets a beautiful, mysterious woman named Gabriela, we get to see if his decision to re-engage with his life pays off romantically as well as platonically.

Samuel attributes his new relationship success to following signs, to the butterfly effect, to magic and happenstance. But Spanish author Francesc Miralles seems to be showing us that Samuel’s decision to take the opportunities life’s been handing him all along is what really creates his relationship changes.

The title of Love in Lowercase refers to the power of small actions. Miralles has given us a lovely little book with nods to literature, philosophy and music that encourages us to wake up to our lives and to the people in them, and to let small coincidences lead us to love.

 

This article was originally published in the February 2016 issue of BookPage. Download the entire issue for the Kindle or Nook.

 
BAM Customer Reviews