Lucky Boy
by Shanthi Sekaran


Overview - A heart-wrenching novel about the transformative power of motherhood and the redemptive beauty of love, perfect for readers of Jacquelyn Mitchard, Jenny Offill, and Cristina Henriquez.

"A fiercely compassionate story about the bonds and the bounds of motherhood and, ultimately, of love." -- Cristina Henriquez, author of The Book of Unknown Americans

NAMED ONE OF LIBRARY JOURNAL 'S TOP TEN BOOKS OF 2017

In this astonishing novel, Shanthi Sekaran gives voice to the devotion and anguish of motherhood through two women bound together by their love for one boy.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • Retail Price: $16.00
  • $11.84
    (Save 26%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 23 copies from $8.05
 
 
 
 

More About Lucky Boy by Shanthi Sekaran
 
 
 
Overview
A heart-wrenching novel about the transformative power of motherhood and the redemptive beauty of love, perfect for readers of Jacquelyn Mitchard, Jenny Offill, and Cristina Henriquez.

"A fiercely compassionate story about the bonds and the bounds of motherhood and, ultimately, of love."--Cristina Henriquez, author of The Book of Unknown Americans

NAMED ONE OF LIBRARY JOURNAL'S TOP TEN BOOKS OF 2017

In this astonishing novel, Shanthi Sekaran gives voice to the devotion and anguish of motherhood through two women bound together by their love for one boy. Soli, a young undocumented Mexican woman in Berkeley, CA, finds that motherhood offers her an identity in a world where she's otherwise invisible. When she is placed in immigrant detention, her son comes under the care of Kavya, an Indian-American wife overwhelmed by her own impossible desire to have a child. As Soli fights for her son, Kavya builds her love on a fault line, her heart wrapped around someone else's child. Exploring the ways in which dreams and determination can reshape a family, Sekaran transforms real life into a thing of beauty. From rural Oaxaca to Berkeley's Gourmet Ghetto to the dreamscapes of Silicon Valley, Lucky Boy offers a moving and revelatory look at the evolving landscape of the American dream and the ever-changing borders of love.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781101982266
  • ISBN-10: 1101982268
  • Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
  • Publish Date: September 2017
  • Page Count: 496
  • Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.5 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.8 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > General
Books > Fiction > Hispanic & Latino
Books > Fiction > Literary

 
BAM Customer Reviews