Coupon
Lucy in the Sky
by Anonymous


Overview - A riveting first-person tale of addiction, in the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Jay's Journal .
The author of this diary began journaling on her sixteenth birthday. She lived in an upper middle class neighborhood in Santa Monica with her mom, dad, and Berkeley-bound older brother.
  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $10.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 8.79

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 42 copies from $3.21
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Lucy in the Sky by Anonymous
 
 
 
Overview
A riveting first-person tale of addiction, in the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Jay's Journal.
The author of this diary began journaling on her sixteenth birthday. She lived in an upper middle class neighborhood in Santa Monica with her mom, dad, and Berkeley-bound older brother. She was a good girl, living a good life...but one party changed everything. One party, where she took one taste--and liked it. Really liked it.
Social drinking and drugging lead to more, faster, harder... She convinced herself that she was no different from anyone else who liked to party. But the evidence indicates otherwise: Soon she was she hanging out with an edgy crowd, blowing off school and everything she used to care about, all to find her next high.
But what goes up must come down, and everything--from her first swig, to her last breath--is chronicled in the diary she left behind.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781442451858
  • ISBN-10: 1442451858
  • Publisher: Simon Pulse
  • Publish Date: May 2012
  • Page Count: 267
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP
  • Dimensions: 7.14 x 5.09 x 0.79 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.45 pounds


Related Categories

Books > > Social Themes - Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse
Books > > Social Themes - New Experience
Books > > Epistolary (Letters & Diaries)

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2012-03-19
  • Reviewer: Staff

More sensational than thought-provoking, this diary of a teenage drug addict traces a 16-year-old girl’s downward spiral, beginning with her introduction to alcohol and marijuana and moving on to pretty much every other drug on the market. Driving home the “This could be you!” message, the narrator is portrayed as entirely ordinary: she comes from a loving middle-class family, thinks writing in a diary is “lame” at first, and regularly crushes on boys. The main focus is on the girl’s growing obsession with getting high as she makes one mistake after another, hanging out with an older crowd, trusting the wrong people, brushing aside her older brother’s concerns, and persuading herself she’s in control. The girl-next-door narration relies on clichés and superfluous exclamations (“And then I realized that I felt good! Really good! Deep down to my feet good!”), emphasizing the protagonist’s naïveté. Echoing the theme and structure of Go Ask Alice, this inelegant cautionary tale paints an appropriately horrific picture of addiction, but offers little insight beyond what is taught in drug education programs. Ages 14–up. (May)

 
BAM Customer Reviews