Coupon
Lucy in the Sky
by Anonymous


Overview - A riveting first-person tale of addiction, in the tradition of "Go Ask Alice" and "Jay's Journal" The author of this diary began journaling on her 16th birthday. She lived in an upper middle class neighborhood in Santa Monica with her mom, dad, and Berkeley-bound older brother.  Read more...

 
Bargain - Paperback
  • Retail Price: $9.99
  • $2.97
    (Save 70%)

Sorry: This item is not currently available.

FREE Shipping for Club Members

What is a Bargain?
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
 
 
 

Customers Also Bought

More About Lucy in the Sky by Anonymous
 
 
 
Overview

A riveting first-person tale of addiction, in the tradition of "Go Ask Alice" and "Jay's Journal" The author of this diary began journaling on her 16th birthday. She lived in an upper middle class neighborhood in Santa Monica with her mom, dad, and Berkeley-bound older brother. She was a good girl, living a good life, but one party changed everything.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781442451858
  • ISBN-10: 1442451858
  • Publisher: Simon Pulse
  • Publish Date: May 2012
  • Page Count: 267
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP

Related Categories

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2012-03-19
  • Reviewer: Staff

More sensational than thought-provoking, this diary of a teenage drug addict traces a 16-year-old girl’s downward spiral, beginning with her introduction to alcohol and marijuana and moving on to pretty much every other drug on the market. Driving home the “This could be you!” message, the narrator is portrayed as entirely ordinary: she comes from a loving middle-class family, thinks writing in a diary is “lame” at first, and regularly crushes on boys. The main focus is on the girl’s growing obsession with getting high as she makes one mistake after another, hanging out with an older crowd, trusting the wrong people, brushing aside her older brother’s concerns, and persuading herself she’s in control. The girl-next-door narration relies on clichés and superfluous exclamations (“And then I realized that I felt good! Really good! Deep down to my feet good!”), emphasizing the protagonist’s naïveté. Echoing the theme and structure of Go Ask Alice, this inelegant cautionary tale paints an appropriately horrific picture of addiction, but offers little insight beyond what is taught in drug education programs. Ages 14–up. (May)

 
Customer Reviews