Music from Big Pink
by The Band

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About Music from Big Pink by The Band

Track Listing

1 Tears of Rage
2 To Kingdom Come
3 In a Station
4 Caledonia Mission
5 Weight, The
6 We Can Talk
7 Long Black Veil
8 Chest Fever
9 Lonesome Suzie
10 This Wheel's on Fire
11 I Shall Be Released
12 Yazoo Street Scandal - (outtake)
13 Tears of Rage - (take, alternate take)
14 Katie's Been Gone - (outtake)
15 If I Lose - (outtake)
16 Long Distance Operator - (outtake)
17 Lonesome Suzie - (take, alternate take)
18 Orange Juice Blues (Blues for Breakfast) - (take outtake/demo)
19 Key to the Highway - (outtake)
20 Ferdinand the Imposter - (take outtake/demo)

Genre: Rock & Pop
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Release Date: August 2000
  • Label: Capitol
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (8/31/00, pp.69-73) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...[One] of rock's few perfect albums, [an] immaculate reflection of [its] times [with] master fictions told with the spit and color of a fur trapper's memoirs...the bonus tracks are sweet gravy..."

Rolling Stone (12/11/03, p.108) - Ranked #34 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "...An instant homespun classic..."

Rolling Stone (8/10/68, p.21) - .MUSIC FROM BIG PINK is an event and should be treated as one...This album was recorded in approximately two weeks...There are people who will work their lives away in vain and not touch it. - Al Kooper

Entertainment Weekly (9/1/00, p.81) - "...[One] of the best albums in rock history....These remasterings sound incredibly rich, and each has alternate takes....this is reissuing done right." - Rating: A

Q (10/00, p.139) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...Almost anonymously shifted the boundaries for what rock might aspire to's still a collection to rake the breath away..."

Q (8/99, p.136) - 4 stars (out of 5) - "1968 melange...laced with staggeringly affecting singing....For lovers of Deserter's Songs, the album and the things."

Uncut (9/01, p.108) - "...Austere yet fascinating, enduringly impressive both as an aesthetic manifesto and a wonderfully understated display of controlled artistry, MUSIC FROM BIG PINK remains a landmark recording which no serious collector can be without..."

Down Beat (10/01, p.66) - 4.5 stars out of 5 - "...Invoking the experience of working-class folks through music and words...[this] overflowed with distinctive singing and musicianship..."

No Depression (9-10/00, pp.102-3) - "...Brilliant....enhancing one's admiration for [their] achievements..."

Goldmine - 5 Stars - Excellent

Mojo (Publisher) (10/00, p.126) - "...In its mixture of the mundane and the weird, of traditional and avant-garde gestures, BIG PINK retains all of that original transfixing magic..."

Customer Reviews