Coupon
The Magical Fantastical Fridge
by Harlan Coben and Leah Tinari


Overview - #1 New York Times Bestselling novelist Harlan Coben partners with a talented debut illustrator in this fantastical and funny adventure for fans of David Wiesner and William Joyce

It's family dinner night, and Walden would like to be anywhere other than the kitchen in the middle of chores.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 30 copies from $3.45
 
 
 

More About The Magical Fantastical Fridge by Harlan Coben; Leah Tinari
 
 
 
Overview
#1 New York Times Bestselling novelist Harlan Coben partners with a talented debut illustrator in this fantastical and funny adventure for fans of David Wiesner and William Joyce

It's family dinner night, and Walden would like to be anywhere other than the kitchen in the middle of chores. Suddenly his wish is granted: He is magically swooped into one of his own drawings on the fridge, and finds himself on a one-of-a-kind adventure. After battling a crayon monster, he catches a plane ride into an old photo, escapes a troop of monkeys by cannonballing into an aquarium ticket, survives an ice-maker earthquake, and more. Kids will love studying the dynamic, comic-book-inspired illustrations in this zany, surprise-filled journey that culminates in a heartfelt appreciation of family.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780525428039
  • ISBN-10: 0525428038
  • Publisher: Dial Books
  • Publish Date: February 2016
  • Page Count: 48
  • Reading Level: Ages 5-8
  • Dimensions: 10.1 x 9.2 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fantasy & Magic
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Action & Adventure - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-11-02
  • Reviewer: Staff

A boy named Walden, bored stiff at the prospect of another weekly dinner with his extended family, is magically dragged into one of his own drawings displayed on the family refrigerator, kicking off an adventure through two-dimensional, magnet-held domestic paraphernalia. He swims through a pair of Coney Island aquarium tickets, gets zapped as he passes through the family electric bill, and escapes back to reality with help from a pair of scissors in a hair salon coupon. Adult author Cobens first picture book starts like an update on Through the Looking Glass, but quickly sinks into narrative and visual incoherence, further marred by literal narration and wordplay that sounds like a grownup trying hard to be funny. (This is shocking! says Walden while in the electric bill, But current-ly I love this.) Debut illustrator Tinari has an intensely expressionistic, caricatured style that seems far better suited to one-off comic portraits than sustained action. By the time Walden transforms into a talking fried chicken leg, readers may be ready to set this one aside. Ages 48. Authors agent: Lisa Erbach Vance, Aaron M. Priest Literary Agency. (Feb.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews