Coupon
Marigold Bakes a Cake
by Mike Malbrough


Overview - For fans of Mo Willems' Don't Let the Pigeon... series. Baking the perfect cake is how Marigold spends Mondays. Being messy, noisy, and disruptive in Marigold's kitchen are how one finch, two pigeons, and three loons spend their Mondays

Marigold the cat loves Mondays, for that is when he bakes cakes With his favorite recipe in front of him, he rolls up his sleeves and gets down to it.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 21 copies from $4.41
 
 
 

More About Marigold Bakes a Cake by Mike Malbrough
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of Mo Willems' Don't Let the Pigeon... series. Baking the perfect cake is how Marigold spends Mondays. Being messy, noisy, and disruptive in Marigold's kitchen are how one finch, two pigeons, and three loons spend their Mondays

Marigold the cat loves Mondays, for that is when he bakes cakes With his favorite recipe in front of him, he rolls up his sleeves and gets down to it. He whips up egg whites . . . Easy. He adds a cup of milk . . . Peasy. Then he sprinkles in just a pinch of . . . of finch? That's not right at all Neither are the smidgeons of pigeons or the spoonsfull of loons. Clearly a chase is in order Yet all that leads to is a spectacularly messy kitchen. And no cake.

With a recipe comprised of equal parts humor and charm, author-illustrator Mike Malbrough has cooked up a scrumptious laugh-out-loud addition to the great tradition of interruption books. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems' Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus and David Ezra Stein's Interrupting Chicken.

Praise for Marigold Bakes a Cake

"This book contains the perfect recipe for fun. The watercolor illustrations are impeccable. . . This humorous book would be ideal for a storytime reading."--School Library Journal

"Malbrough's watercolor illustrations are full of charmingly zany details, from dapper Marigold's polka-dot bow tie to the chocolate splatters after the birds take over the cake making, and the creatures' over-the-top facial expressions amp up the comedy. Playful rhymes and surprising page turns make this a great pick for a group storytime, and the comical ending . . . will be a valuable one for kiddos."--Booklist

"Debut talent Malbrough celebrates the act of culinary creation and the joy of being absorbed in a personal passion--and, like the best desserts, he doesn't let his story get too sweet. In one of many lovely watercolor spreads, Marigold blends glossy curls of shaved chocolate and a ribbon of molasses into the batter. . . Doing what one loves, Malbrough shows, makes it possible to transcend even the basest instincts."--Publishers Weekly

"Clever text follows the illustrations around the page, swirling with chocolate shavings and molasses as Marigold mixes his batter. The lush, textured watercolors match the energy of the story . . . Kids will giggle over the antics of both cat and birds during readalouds and will find plenty of humorous details to discover in the illustrations on their own."--BCCB

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781524737382
  • ISBN-10: 1524737380
  • Publisher: Philomel Books
  • Publish Date: July 2017
  • Page Count: 40
  • Reading Level: Ages 4-7
  • Dimensions: 11.2 x 10.1 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.05 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Animals - Cats
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Humorous Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Cooking & Food

 
BAM Customer Reviews