The Mathematician's Shiva
by Stuart Rojstaczer


Overview - For readers of "This Is Where I Leave You "and "Everything Is Illuminated, ""a brilliant and compelling family saga full of warmth, pathos, history and humor" (Jonathan Evison, author of "West of Here")
When the greatest female mathematician in history passes away, her son, Alexander "Sasha" Karnokovitch, just wants to mourn his mother in peace.
  Read more...

 
Bargain - Paperback
  • Retail Price: $16.00
  • $3.97
    (Save 75%)
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 3.18

Sorry: This item is not currently available.

FREE Shipping for Club Members

What is a Bargain?
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
 
 

More About The Mathematician's Shiva by Stuart Rojstaczer
 
 
 
Overview

For readers of "This Is Where I Leave You "and "Everything Is Illuminated, ""a brilliant and compelling family saga full of warmth, pathos, history and humor" (Jonathan Evison, author of "West of Here")
When the greatest female mathematician in history passes away, her son, Alexander "Sasha" Karnokovitch, just wants to mourn his mother in peace. But rumor has it the notoriously eccentric Polish emigre has solved one of the most difficult problems in all of mathematics, and has spitefully taken the solution to her grave. As a ragtag group of mathematicians from around the world descends upon Rachela's shiva, determined to find the proof or solve it for themselves--even if it means prying up the floorboards for notes or desperately scrutinizing the mutterings of her African Grey parrot--Sasha must come to terms with his mother's outsized influence on his life.
Spanning decades and continents, from a crowded living room in Madison, Wisconsin, to the windswept beach on the Barents Sea where a young Rachela had her first mathematical breakthrough, "The Mathematician's Shiva" is an unexpectedly moving and uproariously funny novel that captures humanity's drive not just to survive, but to achieve the impossible.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780143126317
  • ISBN-10: 0143126318
  • Publisher: Penguin Books
  • Publish Date: September 2014
  • Page Count: 366
  • Reading Level: Ages 18-UP

Related Categories

 
Customer Reviews