Coupon
Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe : A Novel with Recipes
by Jenny (NA) Colgan


Overview - "A hilarious, fast-paced fantasy about starting over, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella. Absolutely adorable." Booklist

Issy Randall can bake. No, Issy can create stunning, mouthwateringly divine cakes. So when she loses her desk job, she starts her own cafe and finds life can be tougher, and sweeter, than she ever dreamed.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $14.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 20 copies from $2.99
 
eBook
Retail Price: $14.99
$9.89

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

Download

This item is available only to U.S. and Canada billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny (NA) Colgan
 
 
 
Overview
"A hilarious, fast-paced fantasy about starting over, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella. Absolutely adorable." Booklist

Issy Randall can bake. No, Issy can create stunning, mouthwateringly divine cakes. So when she loses her desk job, she starts her own cafe and finds life can be tougher, and sweeter, than she ever dreamed.

After a childhood spent in her beloved Grampa Joe's bakery, Issy has undoubtedly inherited his talent. She's much better at baking than she is at filing so when she's laid off from her desk job, Issy decides to open her own little cafe. But she soon learns that her piece-of-cake plan will take all of her courage and confectionary talent to avert disaster.

Funny and sharp, Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe is about how life might not always taste like you expect, but there's always room for dessert

A smart, quirky contemporary cupcake book of recipes and friendship, fans of Sophie Kinsella, X and X will be heading for their mixers to create a story as sweet and complex as Issy's.

Other books by Jenny Colgan:

Meet Me At The Cupcake Cafe "A hilarious, fast-paced fantasy about starting over, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella. Absolutely adorable." Booklist
The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris A heartwarming and bittersweet story of love lost and found
Sweetshop of Dreams A charming story of nostalgic sweets and finding yourself in unexpected places What readers are saying about Meet Me At The Cupcake Cafe

"quirky and adorable "

"a real guilty pleasure with a little romance thrown in on the side "

"Part Romantic Comedy, part Chick-lit... a charming story"

"This book is an excellent cupcake: light, full of flavour and with just the right amount of sweetness to make you smile."

"smart and funny"

"this is a definite must read, a real page turner."What reviewers are saying about Meet Me At The Cupcake Cafe

" A] heartwarming story a la Bridget Jones' Diary... Colgan folds in a colorful cast of characters and whips up an easy, sweet read." USA Today

"A funny novel about friendship, food and love... " Kirkus

"A delightful story... warm, funny and well-written." Fresh Fiction

"Absolutely adorable... charming... an endearing, delightful read" Silver's ReviewsWhat everyone is saying about Jenny Colgan:

" A] heartwarming story a la Bridget Jones' Diary... Colgan folds in a colorful cast of characters and whips up an easy, sweet read." USA Today

"Absolutely adorable... charming... an endearing, delightful read" Silver's Reviews"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781402281808
  • ISBN-10: 1402281803
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
  • Publish Date: July 2013
  • Page Count: 410


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Romance - Contemporary
Books > Fiction > Contemporary Women

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2013-04-29
  • Reviewer: Staff

The latest from Brit chick-lit writer Colgan (Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe) tracks 31-year-old Issy Randall as she transitions from thankless desk job to following her bliss. Being intimate with her duplicitous boss Graeme doesn’t save good-hearted Issy from being laid off. With her beloved Grampa Joe fading in a nursing home, and an unusual retail space up for grabs, Issy uses the knowledge of baking imparted by her grandfather to open her own business. Colgan does a good job of establishing how doubt and second-guessing keeps Issy and her loan officer, Austin, from acting on their affection for one another, letting the situation build to a boiling point. Meanwhile, Issy pines for old boss Graeme, who misses her for selfish, sinister reasons. Issy’s roommate Helena tries to help Issy’s love life and bolster her business confidence. Our heroine gets by with help from unlikely friends, including a shrewd single mom from the other side of the tracks and her high-strung sugar-snob nemesis. Being privy to Graeme’s condescending thoughts is a pleasure, since the nature of this narrative guarantees his comeuppance. Though longer than it needs to be, this is a satisfying read. Good guys sometimes finish first. Recipes. Agent: Ali Gunn, Gunn Global Media (U.K.). (July)

 
BAM Customer Reviews