Coupon
The Midwife's Tale
by Sam Thomas


Overview -

In the tradition of Arianna Franklin and C. J. Sansom comes Samuel Thomas's remarkable debut, "The Midwife's Tale"
""
""It is 1644, and Parliament's armies have risen against the King and laid siege to the city of York. Even as the city suffers at the rebels' hands, midwife Bridget Hodgson becomes embroiled in a different sort of rebellion.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $15.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 12.79

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 34 copies from $3.49
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About The Midwife's Tale by Sam Thomas
 
 
 
Overview

In the tradition of Arianna Franklin and C. J. Sansom comes Samuel Thomas's remarkable debut, "The Midwife's Tale"
""
""It is 1644, and Parliament's armies have risen against the King and laid siege to the city of York. Even as the city suffers at the rebels' hands, midwife Bridget Hodgson becomes embroiled in a different sort of rebellion. One of Bridget's friends, Esther Cooper, has been convicted of murdering her husband and sentenced to be burnt alive. Convinced that her friend is innocent, Bridget sets out to find the real killer.

Bridget joins forces with Martha Hawkins, a servant who's far more skilled with a knife than any respectable woman ought to be. To save Esther from the stake, they must dodge rebel artillery, confront a murderous figure from Martha's past, and capture a brutal killer who will stop at nothing to cover his tracks. The investigation takes Bridget and Martha from the homes of the city's most powerful families to the alleyways of its poorest neighborhoods. As they delve into the life of Esther's murdered husband, they discover that his ostentatious Puritanism hid a deeply sinister secret life, and that far too often tyranny and treason go hand in hand.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781250038340
  • ISBN-10: 1250038340
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books
  • Publish Date: December 2013
  • Page Count: 325
  • Dimensions: 8.32 x 5.46 x 0.93 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.63 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Historical
Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths

 
BAM Customer Reviews