Coupon
Mister Memory
by Marcus Sedgwick


Overview - But the doctor assigned to his care soon realizes this is no ordinary patient: Marcel Despres, Mister Memory, is a man who cannot forget. And the policeman assigned to his case soon realizes that something else is at stake: For why else would the criminal have been hurried off to hospital, and why are his superiors so keen for the whole affair to be closed This crime involves something bigger and stranger than a lovers' fight, something with links to the highest and lowest establishments in France.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $25.95

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 24 copies from $5.64
 
 
 

More About Mister Memory by Marcus Sedgwick
 
 
 
Overview
But the doctor assigned to his care soon realizes this is no ordinary patient: Marcel Despres, Mister Memory, is a man who cannot forget. And the policeman assigned to his case soon realizes that something else is at stake: For why else would the criminal have been hurried off to hospital, and why are his superiors so keen for the whole affair to be closed This crime involves something bigger and stranger than a lovers' fight, something with links to the highest and lowest establishments in France. The policeman and the doctor between them must unravel the mystery--but the answers lie inside Marcel's head. And how can he tell what is significant when he remembers every detail of every moment of his entire life For fans of Scarlett Thomas, Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Patrick Suskind, this is a captivating literary mystery about memory, history and fate.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781681773407
  • ISBN-10: 1681773406
  • Publisher: Pegasus Books
  • Publish Date: March 2017
  • Page Count: 336
  • Dimensions: 9.1 x 6.3 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.05 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Historical
Books > Fiction > Medical

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2017-01-09
  • Reviewer: Staff

Fin de siècle Paris provides the backdrop for this outstanding thriller from Sedgwick (A Love like Blood), who creates a sense of intimacy with the reader through darkly humorous omniscient narration reminiscent of Dumas (Paris at that time can be described as a fairy tale; assuming its understood that fairy tales are brutish, dark and violent). One night, Marcel Després, a man with a photographic memory, comes home to his studio apartment to find his wife, Ondine, in bed with a male acquaintance of theirs. The police arrest Marcel soon after he shoots Ondine dead. The motive eliminates the risk of execution, but Insp. Laurent Petit, a dedicated policeman haunted by the death of his fiancée, is shocked when he learns that the murderer has been summarily declared insane and transferred to the asylum of Salpêtrière. Petits quest for the truth behind Ondines murder coincides with the efforts of Dr. Lucien Morel, an alienist at Salpêtrière, to understand Marcels phenomenal gift. Sedgwick thoughtfully explores fundamental questions about the relationship of memory and identity. (Mar.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews