Coupon
Moxie and the Art of Rule Breaking : A 14-Day Mystery
by Erin Dionne


Overview - Edgar Award Finalist

For fans of The Westing Game and From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler comes a clever, treasure-hunt mystery based on a real-life art heist.

Moxie Fleece knows the rules and follows them--that is, until the day she opens her front door to a mysterious stranger.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $16.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 34 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Moxie and the Art of Rule Breaking by Erin Dionne
 
 
 
Overview
Edgar Award Finalist

For fans of The Westing Game and From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler comes a clever, treasure-hunt mystery based on a real-life art heist.

Moxie Fleece knows the rules and follows them--that is, until the day she opens her front door to a mysterious stranger. Suddenly Moxie is involved in Boston's biggest unsolved mystery: The Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum art heist. Moxie has two weeks to find the art, otherwise she and the people she loves will be in big-time danger.

Her tools? Her best friend, Ollie, a geocaching addict who loves to find stuff; her Alzheimer's suffering grandfather, Grumps, who knows lots more than he lets on; and a geometry proof that she sets up to sort out the clues.

It's a race against the clock through downtown Boston as Moxie and Ollie break every rule she's ever lived by to find the art and save her family.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780803738713
  • ISBN-10: 0803738714
  • Publisher: Dial Books
  • Publish Date: July 2013
  • Page Count: 256
  • Reading Level: Ages 10-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.8 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.8 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Mysteries, Espionage, & Detective Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Friendship
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Multigenerational

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2013-05-20
  • Reviewer: Staff

Moxie Fleece has high expectations for the summer after eighth grade, but a visit from a “psychotic redheaded stranger” changes its trajectory. The woman tells Moxie that her family has two weeks to return the “items” Moxie’s grandfather hid years earlier for a notorious gangster, Sully Cupcakes. Moxie’s grandfather is now living in a care facility, due to his Alzheimer’s disease, which leaves math whiz Moxie and her asthmatic best friend Ollie, a geocaching aficionado, to figure out what the items are and to find them. Soon, they are hunting down artwork stolen in a famous (and, in real life, unsolved) heist from the Isabella Stewart Gardener Museum in Boston. Confident, outspoken Moxie sets up a geometry proof to organize evidence, and Ollie puts his geocaching skills to work as the two sift through clues that lead them throughout the city. Dionne (Notes from an Accidental Band Geek) is attentive to details of Boston institutions, music, and geography, and the believable dialogue and characters, complicated family dynamics, and threat of danger make this mystery hard to put down. Ages 10–up. Agent: Sally Harding, the Cooke Agency. (July)

 
BAM Customer Reviews