Coupon
Mr. Churchill's Secretary : A Maggie Hope Mystery
by Susan Elia Macneal


Overview - For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry , Mr. Churchill s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge and the greatness that rose to meet it.
London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day.
  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • Retail Price: $16.00
  • $12.77
    (Save 20%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 157 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Mr. Churchill's Secretary by Susan Elia Macneal
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge and the greatness that rose to meet it.
London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and remarkable gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined and opportunities she will not let pass. In troubled, deadly times, with air-raid sirens sending multitudes underground, access to the War Rooms also exposes Maggie to the machinations of a menacing faction determined to do whatever it takes to change the course of history.
Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival. And when she unravels a mystery that points toward her own family s hidden secrets, she ll discover that her quick wits are all that stand between an assassin s murderous plan and Churchill himself.
In this daring debut, Susan Elia MacNeal blends meticulous research on the era, psychological insight into Winston Churchill, and the creation of a riveting main character, Maggie Hope, into a spectacularly crafted novel."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780553593617
  • ISBN-10: 0553593617
  • Publisher: Bantam
  • Publish Date: April 2012
  • Page Count: 384

Series: Maggie Hope Mysteries

Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Historical - General
Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Traditional
Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2012-02-13
  • Reviewer: Staff

A plucky heroine isn’t enough to salvage a plot overly dependent on contrivances, as shown by MacNeal’s debut set in 1940 London, the kickoff to a series. The murder of Diana Snyder, a secretary in Prime Minister Winston Churchill’s office, creates a vacancy that American expat Maggie Hope agrees to fill, despite her umbrage at having been previously passed over for a more substantive position there. Maggie adjusts fairly quickly, even as the people of London strive to withstand both German bombs and IRA outrages. Since those behind Snyder’s fatal stabbing as well as their motive are identified early on, the suspense mainly lies in whether Maggie will be able to use her intellect to foil a plot aimed at decapitating the British government. On several occasions, disaster is averted purely by chance, undermining efforts to credit Maggie with saving the day. Agent: Victoria Skurnick, Levine Greenberg Literary. (Apr.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews