Coupon
My Family for the War
by Anne C. Voorhoeve


Overview - Winner of the Mildred L. Batchelder Award
Won the Buxtehulde Bulle Prize for Youth Literature
Nominated for the Evangelischer Buchpreis
An ALSC Notable Children's Book
Kids' Indie Next List

Gripping WWII fiction for fans of Code Name Verity and Between Shades of Gray

At the start of World War II, ten-year-old Franziska Mangold is torn from her family when she boards the kindertransport in Berlin, the train that secretly took nearly 10,000 children out of Nazi territory to safety in England.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 19 copies from $3.48
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About My Family for the War by Anne C. Voorhoeve
 
 
 
Overview
Winner of the Mildred L. Batchelder Award
Won the Buxtehulde Bulle Prize for Youth Literature
Nominated for the Evangelischer Buchpreis
An ALSC Notable Children's Book
Kids' Indie Next List

Gripping WWII fiction for fans of Code Name Verity and Between Shades of Gray

At the start of World War II, ten-year-old Franziska Mangold is torn from her family when she boards the kindertransport in Berlin, the train that secretly took nearly 10,000 children out of Nazi territory to safety in England. Taken in by strangers, Frances (as she is now called) courageously pieces together a new life for herself. But what will happen to her when she is finally reunited with her family, now that she's a stranger herself after seven years of war?

Originally published in Germany, Anne Voorhoeve's award-winning novel is filled with humor, danger, and romance.

* "With the personal Kindertransport history, the intense drama about family, faith, guilt, love, and loyalty in wartime makes this an important addition to the Holocaust curriculum."
--Booklist, starred review

* "Events and facts are expertly woven into the girl's emotional growth, and changing relationships . . . provide a rich exploration of identity and self. With a compelling main character and taut and insightful story line, this novel is sure to find no shortage of readers, and it adds a valuable perspective to collections of World War II fiction."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780147511836
  • ISBN-10: 0147511836
  • Publisher: Speak
  • Publish Date: February 2015
  • Page Count: 416
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP
  • Dimensions: 8 x 5.4 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.8 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Historical - Holocaust

 
BAM Customer Reviews