Coupon
My Name Is Leon
by Kit De Waal


Overview - "Taut, emotionally intense, and wholly believable, this beautiful and uplifting debut" ( Kirkus Reviews ) about a young black boy's quest to reunite with his beloved white half-brother after they are separated in foster care is a sparkling novel perfect for fans of The Language of Flowers .  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $16.00

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

PRE-ORDER NOW:
This item will ship on July 25, 2017. If you order this item now, it will not delay the rest of your order.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
  • [-] Other Available Formats
    Our Price
    New & Used Marketplace
     
     
    My Name Is Leon (Hardcover)
    Published: 2016-07-26
    Publisher: Simon & Schuster
    $25.00
     
     
 
 

More About My Name Is Leon by Kit De Waal
 
 
 
Overview
"Taut, emotionally intense, and wholly believable, this beautiful and uplifting debut" (Kirkus Reviews) about a young black boy's quest to reunite with his beloved white half-brother after they are separated in foster care is a sparkling novel perfect for fans of The Language of Flowers.
Leon loves chocolate bars, Saturday morning cartoons, and his beautiful, golden-haired baby brother. When Jake is born, Leon pokes his head in the crib and says, "I'm your brother. Big brother. My. Name. Is. Leon. I am eight and three quarters. I am a boy." Jake will play with no one but Leon, and Leon is determined to save him from any pain and earn that sparkling baby laugh every chance he can.
But Leon isn't in control of this world where adults say one thing and mean another. When their mother falls victim to her inner demons, strangers suddenly take Jake away; after all, a white baby is easy to adopt, while a half-black, nine-year-old faces a less certain fate. Vowing to get Jake back by any means necessary, Leon's own journey will carry him through the lives of a doting but ailing foster mother, Maureen; Maureen's cranky and hilarious sister, Sylvia; a social worker Leon knows only as "The Zebra"; and a colorful community of local gardeners and West Indian political activists.
Told through the perspective of young Leon, too innocent to entirely understand what has happened to him and baby Jake, but determined to do what he can to make things right. In the end, this is an uplifting story about the power of love, the unbreakable bond between brothers, and the truth about what ultimately makes a family. My Name Is Leon will capture your imagination and steal your heart with its "moving exploration of race and the foster-care system that offers precious insight into the mind of a child forced to grow up well before his time" (Booklist).

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781501117466
  • ISBN-10: 1501117467
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster
  • Publish Date: July 2017
  • Page Count: 304


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Family Life
Books > Fiction > Coming of Age
Books > Fiction > Literary

 
BAM Customer Reviews