Coupon
The Nethergrim, Book 1
by Matthew Jobin


Overview - The next great fantasy epic is here For fans of Ranger's Apprentice and The Chronicles of Narnia .

Everyone in Moorvale believes the legend: The brave knight Tristan and the famed wizard Vithric, in an epic battle decades ago, had defeated the evil Nethergrim and his minions.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $17.99
  • $12.74
    (Save 29%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 39 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About The Nethergrim, Book 1 by Matthew Jobin
 
 
 
Overview
The next great fantasy epic is here For fans of Ranger's Apprentice and The Chronicles of Narnia.

Everyone in Moorvale believes the legend: The brave knight Tristan and the famed wizard Vithric, in an epic battle decades ago, had defeated the evil Nethergrim and his minions. To this day, songs are sung and festivals held in the heroes' honor. Yet now something dark has crept over the village. First animals disappear, their only remains a pile of bones licked clean. Then something worse: children disappear. The whispers begin quietly yet soon turn into a shout: The Nethergrim has returned

Edmund's brother is one of the missing, and Edmund knows he must do something to save his life. But what? Though a student of magic, he struggles to cast even the simplest spell. Still, he and his friends swallow their fear and set out to battle an ancient evil whose powers none of them can imagine. They will need to come together--and work apart--in ways that will test every ounce of resolve.

In a story reminiscent of the Ranger's Apprentice epic and The Chronicles of Narnia, Matthew Jobin weaves reality, magic, and adventure into the next great fantasy phenomenon.

Praise for THE NETHERGRIM

"This series starter is reminiscent of epic fantasy series such as C.S. Lewis' The Chronicles of Narnia or J.R.R. Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings. The characters are strongly drawn and . . . t]here is a compelling blend of magic, romance, looming evil, and noble sacrifice.--VOYA

"The Nethergrim reminded me of a cross between The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter. . . I would really like to see this one on the big screen." -Brodart's Library Services

"Entertainingly told with many unique features, The Nethergrim reads like a classic." -Recommended by Richard C., Powells.com Staff Pick at Powell's Books]

"I'd go ahead and say everything about this book screams BLOCKBUSTER FILM."--The Social Potato Reviews

"Riveting. Perfect for imaginative middle-grade readers craving a hearty magical adventure."--Booklist

"Fantasy fans will find much to enjoy in this elegant gem of a novel."--BCCB

"First in a planned trilogy, this is a solid debut for anthropologist Jobin, who steers clear of genre cliches while offering up a refreshingly metaphysical take on magic, a believably dark setting filled with unusual threats, and a seductive and manipulative villain."--Publishers Weekly

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780399159985
  • ISBN-10: 0399159983
  • Publisher: Philomel Books
  • Publish Date: April 2014
  • Page Count: 356
  • Reading Level: Ages 10-13
  • Dimensions: 8.9 x 6.3 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.25 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fantasy & Magic
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Action & Adventure - General
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Legends, Myths, & Fables - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-01-27
  • Reviewer: Staff

The secrets of the past return to haunt the present when an ancient evil awakens, 30 years after being defeated by a group of heroes. In this entertaining coming-of-age fantasy, which opens in a quasi-European medieval village, several teens must pick up where the previous generation left off. Fourteen-year-old would-be wizard Edmund, chafing at his parents’ plans for him to inherit their inn, wants to rescue his younger brother, who has been kidnapped by the shadowy minions of the Nethergrim. Added by his best friends—tomboy Katherine, whose father is one of the few survivors of the first Nethergrim campaign, and Tom, enslaved by a cruel taskmaster—Edmund sets forth to prove himself and save the children intended as sacrifices for the Nethergrim’s power. First in a planned trilogy, this is a solid debut for anthropologist Jobin, who steers clear of genre clichés while offering up a refreshingly metaphysical take on magic, a believably dark setting filled with unusual threats, and a seductive and manipulative villain in the nebulous Nethergrim itself. Ages 10–up. Agent: Eleanor Jackson, Dunow, Carlson & Lerner. (Apr.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews