Coupon
You Have Never Been Here : New and Selected Stories
by Mary Rickert


Overview - Locus Recommended Reading List
Open this book to any page and find yourself enspelled by these lush, alchemical stories. Faced with the uncanny and the impossible, Rickert's protagonists are as painfully, shockingly, complexly human as the readers who will encounter them.
  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $16.00

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 18 copies from $2.99
 
 
 

More About You Have Never Been Here by Mary Rickert
 
 
 
Overview
Locus Recommended Reading List
Open this book to any page and find yourself enspelled by these lush, alchemical stories. Faced with the uncanny and the impossible, Rickert's protagonists are as painfully, shockingly, complexly human as the readers who will encounter them. Mothers, daughters, witches, artists, strangers, winged babies, and others grapple with deception, loss, and moments of extraordinary joy.
Praise for Mary Rickert's books:
-The Memory Garden is a lovely book of women, friendship, sadness and healing, and it is genuinely uplifting. Like the garden of its title, this is a book to take in slowly, to spend time in, to wander through; you'll likely find your-selves the better for it.--- NPR
-This is a novel haunted by mortality--with people who died young, with people now old and dying, with ghosts. But it is often a joyful novel, a novel of life, forgiveness and good meals with friends and strangers.---Los Angeles Review of Books
-I've seldom read a book as gentle, and yet as powerful.--- io9.com
-Rickert writes with a blend of poetical language and dark suspense.---The Washington Post
-A poet of the extremes housed within the human heart.---Locus
Mary Rickert has long been an undiscovered master of the fantastic. Her first collection, Map of Dreams, received the Crawford and World Fantasy awards, and stories from this collection of new and selected work have received the Shirley Jackson and World Fantasy awards. She has worked as kindergarten teacher, barista, Disneyland balloon vendor, and in the personnel de-partment of Sequoia National Park where she spent her time off hiking the wilderness. She is the author of two collections and the novel The Memory Garden and she has received the Shirley Jackson and World Fantasy awards. She lives in Wisconsin. See more at maryrickert.com.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781618731104
  • ISBN-10: 1618731106
  • Publisher: Small Beer Press
  • Publish Date: November 2015
  • Page Count: 320
  • Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.4 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.85 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Short Stories (single author)

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-10-05
  • Reviewer: Staff

Beautiful, descriptive prose enriches tales of ghosts, loss, and regret in this leisurely collection. Rickert (The Memory Garden) draws heavily from Gothic concepts of watery lovers (Journey into the Kingdom) and dead children (Holiday) while giving her stories more modern protagonists. The prose is designed to be read slowly, with sentences such as He smelled the odd odor of saltwater and mud, as if she were both fresh and loamy forming a picture in the readers mind. In some cases, the whole is less than its eloquent parts; Cold Fires, for example, meanders in the cliché of story-within-story. However, there are several standouts, including The Christmas Witch, a structurally creative tale featuring a young girls obsession with bones, and the novella The Mothers of Voorhisville, which uses multiple narrators to good effect as a town deals with a strange series of births. Fans of Neil Gaiman and Kelly Link will appreciate Rickerts explorations of myth and memory. (Nov.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews