Coupon
Nora & Kettle
by Lauren Nicolle Taylor


Overview -

Fans of Eleanor & Park and The Book Thief will love this startling and heart-warming take on Peter Pan.

What if Peter Pan was a homeless kid just trying to survive, and Wendy flew away for a really good reason?  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $11.95

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 23 copies from $2.99
 
 
 

More About Nora & Kettle by Lauren Nicolle Taylor
 
 
 
Overview

Fans of Eleanor & Park and The Book Thief will love this startling and heart-warming take on Peter Pan.

What if Peter Pan was a homeless kid just trying to survive, and Wendy flew away for a really good reason?

Seventeen-year-old Kettle has had his share of adversity. As an orphaned Japanese American struggling to make a life in the aftermath of an event in history not often referred to--the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II and the removal of children from orphanages for having "one drop of Japanese blood in them"--things are finally looking up. He has his hideout in an abandoned subway tunnel, a job, and his gang of Lost Boys.

Desperate to run away, the world outside her oppressive brownstone calls to naive, eighteen-year-old Nora--the privileged daughter of a controlling and violent civil rights lawyer who is building a compensation case for the interned Japanese Americans. But she is trapped, enduring abuse to protect her younger sister Frankie and wishing on the stars every night for things to change.

For months, they've lived side by side, their paths crossing yet never meeting. But when Nora is nearly killed and her sister taken away, their worlds collide as Kettle, grief stricken at the loss of a friend, angrily pulls Nora from her window.

In her honeyed eyes, Kettle sees sadness and suffering. In his, Nora sees the chance to take to the window and fly away.

Set in 1953, NORA AND KETTLE explores the collision of two teenagers facing extraordinary hardship. Their meeting is inevitable, devastating, and ultimately healing. Their stories, a collection of events, are each on their own harmless. But together, one after the other, they change the world.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781634221351
  • ISBN-10: 1634221354
  • Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing
  • Publish Date: March 2016
  • Page Count: 352
  • Reading Level: Ages 15-18
  • Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.2 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.65 pounds

Series: Paper Stars Novel #1

Related Categories

Books > > People & Places - United States - Asian American
Books > > Social Themes - Physical & Emotional Abuse (see also Social
Books > > Family - Orphans & Foster Homes

 
BAM Customer Reviews