Coupon
Not After Everything
by Michelle Levy


Overview - Fans of"Eleanor and Park," "The Spectacular Now," "Willow," and "Perfectly Good White Boy" won't be able to put down this gritty but hopeful love story about two struggling teens.
Tyler has a football scholarship to Stanford, a hot girlfriend, and a reliable army of friends to party with.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 1 copy from $15.36
 
 
 

More About Not After Everything by Michelle Levy
 
 
 
Overview
Fans of"Eleanor and Park," "The Spectacular Now," "Willow," and "Perfectly Good White Boy" won't be able to put down this gritty but hopeful love story about two struggling teens.
Tyler has a football scholarship to Stanford, a hot girlfriend, and a reliable army of friends to party with. Then his mom kills herself. And Tyler lets it all go. Now he needs to dodge what his dad is offering (verbal tirades and abuse) and earn what his dad isn t (money): He needs a job. It s there that he reunites with Jordyn, his childhood best friend, and now the token goth girl at school. Jordyn brings Tyler an unexpected peace and, finally, love. But with his family in shambles, he can t risk bringing Jordyn too deeply into his life. So when violence rocks Tyler s world again, will it be Jordyn who shows him the way to a hopeful future? Or after everything, will Tyler have to find it in himself?
This tough, realistic page-turner reveals a boy's point of view on loss and love perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Tim Tharp, Julia Hoban, Carrie Mesrobian, and Mindi Scott."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780803741584
  • ISBN-10: 0803741588
  • Publisher: Dial Books
  • Publish Date: August 2015
  • Page Count: 336
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Love & Romance
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Physical & Emotional Abuse
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Suicide

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-05-18
  • Reviewer: Staff

For a while, Tyler Blackwell had it all: great grades, a cheerleader girlfriend, football stardom, and a probable scholarship. But after his mother kills herself, he quits football, alienates his girlfriend, and spends most of his time dodging his brutally abusive father. Guilt-ridden and broke (his father cuts off all support), Tyler is ghosting his way through senior year when he gets a job at a photography studio. There he realizes that a coworker he had dismissed as a goth loser is actually his childhood friend Jordyn. Their relationship changes Tyler’s life: he can be honest with Jordyn, she urges him not to give up on football or the scholarship, and her parents provide a model of family affection. By the end of the school year, Tyler’s life is back together; if it’s all a little too good to be true, given the tragedy Tyler has endured, readers won’t begrudge him a happier future. Believable dialogue and emotions—especially Tyler’s simmering rage at the outset of the novel—make this a solid first showing. Ages 14–up. Agent: Laura Bradford, Bradford Literary Agency. (Aug.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews