Coupon
Not as We Know It
by Tom Avery


Overview - For fans of David Almond's Skellig and Patrick Ness's A Monster Calls, here is a lyrical, atmospheric, and deeply emotional middle-grade novel with a touch of magical realism.

Twins Jamie and Ned do everything together, from watching their favorite show, Star Trek, to riding their bikes, to beachcombing after a storm.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 23 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Not as We Know It by Tom Avery
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of David Almond's Skellig and Patrick Ness's A Monster Calls, here is a lyrical, atmospheric, and deeply emotional middle-grade novel with a touch of magical realism.

Twins Jamie and Ned do everything together, from watching their favorite show, Star Trek, to riding their bikes, to beachcombing after a storm. But Ned is sick with cystic fibrosis, and he may someday leave Jamie behind. One day the boys find a strange animal on the beach: smooth flesh on one end, scales at the other, and short arms and legs with long webbed fingers and toes. Could it be a merman, like in the old stories Granddad tells?

Together, the boys name the creature Leonard and decide to hide him in a tub in their garage. But . . . why is Leonard here? Jamie hopes he might bring some miracle that will stop his brother from going where he can no longer follow. But Ned, who grows closer to Leonard every day, doesn't seem to be getting any better. . . .

"An elegant story of courage and loss." --The Wall Street Journal

"A heartrending but ultimately uplifting adventure novel." --School Library Journal, Starred

"A hauntingly beautiful story about brotherly bonds, wrenching grief, and the untethered hope that everything will somehow work out." --Publishers Weekly, Starred

"Captivating." --Shelf Awareness, Starred


This item is Non-Returnable.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780553535099
  • ISBN-10: 0553535099
  • Publisher: Schwartz & Wade Books
  • Publish Date: August 2016
  • Page Count: 176
  • Reading Level: Ages 9-12
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.6 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.65 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Siblings
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Health & Daily Living - Diseases, Illnesses & Injuries
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Death & Dying

 
BAM Customer Reviews