Coupon
Nubs : The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle
by Brian Dennis and Kirby Larson and Mary Nethery


Overview - Nubs, an Iraqi dog of war, never had a home or a person of his own. He was the leader of a pack of wild dogs living off the land and barely surviving. But Nubs's life changed when he met Marine Major Brian Dennis. The two formed a fast friendship, made stronger by Dennis's willingness to share his meals, offer a warm place to sleep, and give Nubs the kind of care and attention he had never received before.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $18.00
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 14.40

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 82 copies from $2.99
 
 
 

More About Nubs by Brian Dennis; Kirby Larson; Mary Nethery
 
 
 
Overview
Nubs, an Iraqi dog of war, never had a home or a person of his own. He was the leader of a pack of wild dogs living off the land and barely surviving. But Nubs's life changed when he met Marine Major Brian Dennis. The two formed a fast friendship, made stronger by Dennis's willingness to share his meals, offer a warm place to sleep, and give Nubs the kind of care and attention he had never received before. Nubs became part of Dennis's human "pack" until duty required the Marines to relocate a full 70 miles away--without him. Nubs had no way of knowing that Marines were not allowed to have pets.
So began an incredible journey that would take Nubs through a freezing desert, filled with danger tofind his friend and would lead Dennis on a mission that would touch the hearts of people all over the world.
Nubs and Dennis will remind readers that friendship has the power to cross deserts, continents, and even species.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780316053181
  • ISBN-10: 031605318X
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: November 2009
  • Page Count: 48
  • Reading Level: Ages 6-9


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Nonfiction > Animals - Dogs
Books > Juvenile Nonfiction > Social Topics - Friendship
Books > Juvenile Nonfiction > People & Places - Middle East

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page 45.
  • Review Date: 2009-11-09
  • Reviewer: Staff

Larson and Nethery, who collaborated on Two Bobbies, team up with Dennis to tell the moving story of the Marine major’s friendship with a wild dog he befriended at a border fort in Iraq. Dennis named the dog Nubs because his “ears had been cut off to make him a dog of war” (a statement never explained). Though Nubs futilely attempts to follow Dennis when he departs the fort, the two grow closer on subsequent visits, until the dog (now wounded) treks 70 miles through the snow to find Dennis. When the major is ordered to “get rid of the dog, or else,” he raises money to have Nubs transported to his San Diego hometown, where human and dog eventually reunite. Some spreads feel cluttered with narrative passages, e-mail sidebars, and multiple images; the photographs, gleaned from several sources, are of varying quality and resolution (understandable given the circumstances under which most were taken). But these do not diminish the emotional impact of the saga, which should appeal to fans of Owen and Mzee and other stories of animals that triumph against the odds. Ages 3–up. (Nov.)

 
BookPage Reviews

Always faithful: a Marine and his unforgettable dog

This true story has everything a dog lover is looking for: loyalty, bravery and drama. Add a splash of patriotism and some strawberry Pop-Tarts and you’ve got yourself the feel-good picture book of the fall.   Nubs, so-named because his ears had been cut off to “make him a dog of war,” was a skinny, hungry dog with no owner when Major Brian Dennis discovered him one fall morning in Iraq. In short order, Marine and canine were inseparable. While on the base, Nubs and Brian walked guard duty together, and Brian gave Nubs love, food and many belly rubs. Whenever Brian had to leave the base, Nubs would chase his Humvee until he couldn’t run anymore. Time after time, Brian would leave and Nubs would follow, running until his body gave out.   Once, with a burst of determination, Nubs followed Brian 70 miles in the snow, from the border of Syria to the border of Jordan. One would think such dedication would earn Nubs a place by Major Dennis’ side forever, but there was one big problem. It was against the rules for a Marine to have a dog. They were reported to superiors and Brian was given four days to ‘get rid of the dog, or else.’ Stateside financial support saved Nubs and he was quickly shipped to San Diego, where he was met by Brian’s friends who cared for him during the last months of Brian’s tour of duty.   Not only is this an inspiring dog story, Nubs is a perfect book for children who want to learn a little more about life in a war zone. There is no political agenda here, only the story of a soldier doing his job with a loving dog at his heels. Photographs are presented scrapbook style and, though many readers already know the outcome, the authors build the suspense and emotion to the heartwarming ending. I imagine more than a few happy tears will be shed by dog-loving children and adults as they turn the final pages.   Robin Smith is a second-grade teacher in Nashville.

 
BAM Customer Reviews