Oracular Spectacular
by Mgmt

  • $8.98
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 7.18
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About Oracular Spectacular by Mgmt

Track Listing

1 Time to Pretend
2 Weekend Wars
3 Youth, The
4 Electric Feel
5 Kids
6 4th Dimensional Transition
7 Pieces of What
8 Of Moons, Birds & Monsters
9 Handshake, The
10 Future Reflections
11 Electric Feel
12 Tour Photo Album
13 Photos from the Time to Pretend Video Shoot

Genre: Rock & Pop
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Release Date: January 2008
  • Label: Columbia (USA)
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: Dave Fridmann
  • Engineer: Dave Fridmann
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (p.82) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "There are hints of Joy Division and Sixties nostalgia both acid-tinged and bluesy, but ORACULAR SPECTACULAR's playfulness and remarkable density are best displayed on 'Electric Feel'..."

Rolling Stone (p.92) - Ranked #31 in Rolling Stone's 50 Best Albums Of 2008 -- "It's acid rock for realists."

Spin (p.51) - Ranked #10 in Spin's "40 Best Albums Of 2008" -- "[A] state-of-the-art party album."

Uncut (p.98) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "MGMT offer a series of rock pastiches so joyously over-egged that they become something new and celebratory. A sugary feast for the senses."

Alternative Press (p.115) - 4.5 stars out of 5 -- "ORACULAR is thick with countless layers of electronics, live instrumentation and vocal harmonies....It's brilliant."

Q (Magazine) (p.138) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] collection of ambitiously stitched-together genres, all massaged into punchy cohesion by Flaming Lips producer Dave Fridmann. It's a bold debut."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.66) - Ranked #36 in Mojo's "The 50 Best Albums Of 2008" -- "[With] wild reverbs, huge keyboards and slippery lyrics..."

Harp (magazine) (p.104) - "Filled with electro-processed recorders, mad Mellotrons, walls of fuzz and finely fingered acoustic guitars to go with MGMT's mystic mountain melodies..."

The Word (magazine) (p.106) - "[MGMT] have clearly soaked up a lot of the sort of stuff that bands of their ilk exist for...but, rather charmingly in these dread-heavy times, they dress it all up in expansively positive pop songs that are, generally, high as kites."

Clash (Magazine) (p.67) - Ranked #13 in Clash's "The 40 Best Albums of 2008" -- "[I]t's raw talent that has kept MGMT afloat through 2008. Long may it do so."

Customer Reviews