Coupon
Odd, Weird & Little
by Patrick Jennings


Overview - Readers who love Andrew Clements, Dan Gutman, Gordon Korman, and Tom Angleberger will find this charming, funny, easy-to-read middle-grade novel from the beloved Patrick Jennings an absolute hoot
When the new kid joins his class, Woodrow agrees with his schoolmates--Toulouse is really weird.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $15.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 26 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Odd, Weird & Little by Patrick Jennings
 
 
 
Overview
Readers who love Andrew Clements, Dan Gutman, Gordon Korman, and Tom Angleberger will find this charming, funny, easy-to-read middle-grade novel from the beloved Patrick Jennings an absolute hoot
When the new kid joins his class, Woodrow agrees with his schoolmates--Toulouse is really weird. He's short - kindergarten short - dresses in a suit like a grandpa, has huge eyes, and barely says a word. But Woodrow isn't exactly Mr. Popularity. The frequent target of the class bully himself, he figures that maybe all Toulouse needs is a chance.
And when the two are put together in gym to play volleyball, they make quite the team. Toulouse can serve, set, and spike like a pro. He really knows how to fly around the court. But when the attention and teasing switch back to Woodrow, he learns that the new kid is great at something else: being a friend.
Full of heart and laughs, Odd, Weird, and Little is another winner from the author of the state-list favorite, Guinea Dog.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781606843741
  • ISBN-10: 1606843745
  • Publisher: Egmont USA
  • Publish Date: January 2014
  • Page Count: 149
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.6 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.6 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Humorous Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Bullying
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Friendship

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2013-10-21
  • Reviewer: Staff

Ten-year-old Woodrow Schwette is the weirdest kid in his class until quiet, tiny, suit-wearing Toulouse Gulot shows up by way of Quebec. Jennings (My Homework Ate My Homework) creates a sympathetic underdog in Woodrow, a boy all too used to being relentlessly teased by class bullies Garrett and Hubcap, whose casual cruelty will likely make some readers shudder with recognition. Woodrow must decide if he will stand aside while Toulouse—with his “old-man hat,” “wide, round eyes,” and vocabulary that’s initially limited to the word “Who”—becomes the bullies’ new punching bag, or if he will stand up for his new friend. Jennings gives Woodrow a relatable voice and laces the story with clues that hint at the twist that is confirmed in the book’s final chapters. The author does such a nice job of building to the big revelation that it’s unfortunate that the book’s cover treatment basically spoils the surprise. Nevertheless, it’s a warm and funny story about being true to oneself and standing up for what’s right. Ages 8–12. Agent: Rosemary Stimola, Stimola Literary Studio. (Jan.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews