Coupon
Odd, Weird & Little
by Patrick Jennings


Overview - New in paperback *"At last: a humorous, useful and pedantry-free book about bullying "--"Kirkus Reviews"(starred)
Readers who love Louis Sachar and Andrew Clements will find this charming, easy-to-read middle-grade novel an absolute hoot
The new kid in school dresses like a businessman, carries a briefcase, and never says anything except "Who?" Frankly, he's a bit odd, maybe because he's actually an owl.
  Read more...

 
In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 22 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Odd, Weird & Little by Patrick Jennings
 
 
 
Overview
New in paperback *"At last: a humorous, useful and pedantry-free book about bullying "--"Kirkus Reviews"(starred)
Readers who love Louis Sachar and Andrew Clements will find this charming, easy-to-read middle-grade novel an absolute hoot
The new kid in school dresses like a businessman, carries a briefcase, and never says anything except "Who?" Frankly, he's a bit odd, maybe because he's actually an owl. Fans of "Guinea Dog" will adore this latest hilarious story.
When the new kid joins his class, Woodrow agrees with his schoolmates--Toulouse is really weird. He's short-- kindergarten short--dresses in a suit like a grandpa, has huge eyes, and barely says a word. But Woodrow isn't exactly Mr. Popularity himself. The frequent target of the class bully, he figures that maybe all Toulouse needs is a chance. When the two are put together in gym to play volleyball, they make quite the team. Toulouse can serve, set, and spike like a pro. He really knows how to fly around the court. But when the attention and teasing switch back to Woodrow, he learns that the new kid is great at something else: being a friend.
Full of heart and laughs, "Odd, Weird "&" Little" is another winner from the author of the state-list favorite "Guinea Dog."
"Also available in hardcover (978-1-60684-374-1) and eBook (978-1-60684-375-8) formats."
Review Quotes for "Odd, Weird & Little"
*..".perfect for independent readers and for reading aloud...an outrageously funny premise."--"Kirkus Reviews" starred review
..".the owl-in-disguise element here is surprisingly effective, taking a standard tale of an underdog's triumph and giving it a charming weirdness that reaffirms the value of being a bit odd..."--"BCCB"
..".a warm and funny story about being true to oneself and standing up for what's right."--"Publishers Weekly "
Awards and State Lists for" Guinea Dog" Won the Washington State Scandiuzzi Children's Book Award and the Kansas William Allen White Award, received an honor for the Massachusetts Book Award. Nominated for the Colorado Children's Book Award, Florida Sunshine State Young Readers Award, the Hawaii N N Award, the Indiana Young Hoosier Book Award, the New Hampshire Great Stone Face Book Award, the Washington State Sasquatch Award, as well as the Texas Horned Toad Tales list."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781606845684
  • ISBN-10: 1606845683
  • Publisher: Carolrhoda Books
  • Publish Date: March 2015
  • Page Count: 160
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 7.5 x 5.1 x 0.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.4 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Humorous Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > School & Education
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Animals - Birds

 
BAM Customer Reviews