Coupon
Off the Leash : A Year at the Dog Park
by Matthew Gilbert


Overview -

OFF THE LEASH is a group portrait of dog people, specifically the strange, wonderful, neurotic, and eccentric dog people who gather at Amory Park, overlooking Boston near Fenway Park. And it's about author Matthew Gilbert's transformation, after much fear and loathing of dogs and social groups, into one of those dog people with fur on their jackets, squeaky toys in their hands, and biscuits in their pockets.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $24.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 43 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Off the Leash by Matthew Gilbert
 
 
 
Overview

OFF THE LEASH is a group portrait of dog people, specifically the strange, wonderful, neurotic, and eccentric dog people who gather at Amory Park, overlooking Boston near Fenway Park. And it's about author Matthew Gilbert's transformation, after much fear and loathing of dogs and social groups, into one of those dog people with fur on their jackets, squeaky toys in their hands, and biscuits in their pockets.

Gilbert, longtime TV critic at "The Boston Globe," describes his reluctant trip into the dog park subculture, as the first-time owner of a stubbornly social Yellow Lab puppy named Toby. Like many Americans, he was happily accustomed to the safe distance of TV viewing and cell-phone web surfing, tethered to the digital leash. But the headstrong, play-obsessed Toby pulls him to Amory, and Amory becomes an exhilarating dose of presence for him. The joyous chaos of wrestling dogs and the park's cast of offbeat dog owners - the "pack of freaks" - gradually draw him into the here and now. At the dog park, the dog owners go off the leash, too.

Dog-park life can be tense. When dogs fight, their owners - such as the reckless Charlotte - bare their teeth at each other, too. Amid the rollicking dog play, feelings tend to surface faster, unedited. But Gilbert shows how Amory is an idyllic microcosm, too, the home of enduring friendships and, as the droll but vulnerable Hayley knows, romantic crushes. Meeting daily, a gathering of dog owners can be like group therapy, or "The Office," or a standup concert.

As a TV critic, Matthew Gilbert is well-known by his readership for his humorous and wry writing style. A charming narrative that will appeal to anyone who has ever enjoyed watching a puppy scamper through a park, OFF THE LEASH is a paean to dog lovers and their pets everywhere, perfect for fans of "Marley & Me" and "Merle's Door."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781250014221
  • ISBN-10: 1250014220
  • Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
  • Publish Date: July 2014
  • Page Count: 227
  • Dimensions: 8.61 x 5.67 x 0.73 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.73 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Pets > Essays & Narratives
Books > Pets > Dogs - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-05-19
  • Reviewer: Staff

Dog enthusiasts will flock to this entertaining account of an unlikely canine lover’s ascent into full-fledged member of the neighborhood dog-park club. Gilbert, a TV critic for the Boston Globe, was “the last person on earth you’d have expected to find malingering at a dog park” until he marries a dog lover, and finds himself adopting a yellow Lab puppy named Toby. Gilbert becomes obsessed with training and having a well-behaved model citizen of a dog. Soon, dog and owner are inexorably drawn to the grassy fields of Amory Park, a dog park not far from their Brookline neighborhood. Slowly, but surely, he is drawn into the supportive subculture of the dog-park people, a whole range of characters. Hayley is a funny, outspoken graduate student with a Bernese mountain dog; Nash is in love with his golden retriever, Bertha; Drew, a “muscle-bound” hunk in his 30s, with his mutt, Chester, make an adorable pair, and Charlotte, the owner of an aggressive whippet, serves as the park’s villain, knee-deep in denial. Any dog owner who has ever stepped foot in the local dog park will recognize these types, and Gilbert is an adept storyteller, adding just enough intrigue (dog-on-doggie aggression, an attempt at person-on-person romance, the unfortunate realities of humping) to keep the pages turning. Agent: Ellen Geiger, Frances Goldin Literary Agency. (July)

 
BAM Customer Reviews