Coupon
Ol' Clip-Clop : A Ghost Story
by Pat McKissack and Eric Velasquez


Overview -

Mounting his horse, cold-hearted John Leep smiles as he anticipates evicting the widow Mayes for nonpayment of rent. When she comes up with the rent after all, Leep, unwilling to be disappointed, knocks her coins to the floor and hides one of them in his boot.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $16.95

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 21 copies from $2.99
 
 
 
 

More About Ol' Clip-Clop by Pat McKissack; Eric Velasquez
 
 
 
Overview

Mounting his horse, cold-hearted John Leep smiles as he anticipates evicting the widow Mayes for nonpayment of rent. When she comes up with the rent after all, Leep, unwilling to be disappointed, knocks her coins to the floor and hides one of them in his boot. The widow is evicted; but as he departs, Leep is pursued by an unseen stalker.


As Leep rides faster, so does his pursuer-clippity-cloppity, clippity-cloppity--until Leep reaches his home. Is John Leep safe at last or is Ol' Clip-Clop gonna SWALLOW HIM WHOLE?


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780823422654
  • ISBN-10: 0823422658
  • Publisher: Holiday House
  • Publish Date: August 2013
  • Page Count: 32
  • Reading Level: Ages 6-9
  • Dimensions: 10.21 x 8.36 x 0.37 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.71 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Horror

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2013-07-22
  • Reviewer: Staff

In a ghostly story in the vein of The Legend of Sleepy Hollow and A Christmas Carol, an 18th-century miser, John Leep, rides on horseback to evict a woman from her residence. But as darkness falls over the forest—exquisitely rendered in Velasquez’s milky, naturalistic paintings—Leep hears the “Clip. Clop” of a ghostly rider behind him. After cruelly deceiving his desperate tenant (“You’re short. This isn’t everything you owe me!”), he journeys home, again pursued by the invisible horseman. Readers who crave truly scary stories won’t be disappointed by the conclusion to this enigmatic tale—and a great many will jump out of their seats. Ages 6–9. (July)

 
BAM Customer Reviews