Once on This Island
by Gloria Whelan


Overview -

From the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Homeless Bird comes a gripping historical novel about a young girl during the British-American War of 1812.

When war erupts between England and America, it brings change and uncertainty, even to Michigan's remote Mackinac Island.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 35 copies from $3.44
 
 
 

More About Once on This Island by Gloria Whelan
 
 
 
Overview

From the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Homeless Bird comes a gripping historical novel about a young girl during the British-American War of 1812.

When war erupts between England and America, it brings change and uncertainty, even to Michigan's remote Mackinac Island. For young Mary O'Shea, the hardest change is the departure of her father, who leaves Mackinac to join the American Army. With her sister and brother, Mary must tend the farm, deal with the hardships of British occupation, and hope for the safe return of their father.

With her trademark lyricism, spare prose, and strong young heroine, award-winning author Gloria Whelan has once again taken a chapter from history and transformed it into gripping, accessible historical fiction that is perfect for schools and classrooms, as well as for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780064406192
  • ISBN-10: 0064406199
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Publish Date: September 1996
  • Page Count: 192
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 7.6 x 5.16 x 0.46 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.3 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Historical - United States - 19th Century
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Historical - Military & Wars
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Lifestyles - Farm Life & Ranch Life

 
BAM Customer Reviews