Coupon
One Little Two Little Three Little Children
by Kelly Dipucchio and Mary Lundquist


Overview -

From bestselling author Kelly DiPucchio, with illustrations by Mary Lundquist, comes a charming new picture book in the vein of Liz Garton Scanlon's All the World and Susan Meyers's Everywhere Babies .

One Little Two Little Three Little Children-- an exuberant reinvention of the classic children's rhyme -- is pure read-aloud, sing-along joy and an irresistible celebration of all kinds of children and families.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 23 copies from $7.17
 
 
 

More About One Little Two Little Three Little Children by Kelly Dipucchio; Mary Lundquist
 
 
 
Overview

From bestselling author Kelly DiPucchio, with illustrations by Mary Lundquist, comes a charming new picture book in the vein of Liz Garton Scanlon's All the World and Susan Meyers's Everywhere Babies.

One Little Two Little Three Little Children--an exuberant reinvention of the classic children's rhyme--is pure read-aloud, sing-along joy and an irresistible celebration of all kinds of children and families.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062348661
  • ISBN-10: 0062348663
  • Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
  • Publish Date: May 2016
  • Page Count: 32
  • Reading Level: Ages 4-8
  • Dimensions: 9.1 x 10.1 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.85 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-03-14
  • Reviewer: Staff

Because the original “Ten Little” nursery songs were rooted in cultural insensitivity and downright racism, adaptation poses a risk. Nevertheless, DiPucchio (Everyone Loves Bacon) repurposes the familiar song as a warm list of beloved children and happy families. Lundquist (Cat & Bunny) pictures wholesome scenes of racially and culturally diverse families, opening with “One little, two little, three little children” jumping rope. Rather than count to 10, the verses supply descriptive language: “Loved little, hugged little, snugged little children./ Cry little, shy little, my little children./ All children ’round the world.” The next set of stanzas celebrates “One loving, two loving, three loving daddies,” followed by verses praising mommies, houses, voices, and families. The same families reappear throughout, with the song culminating in a picnic for all: the jump-rope trio, several mom-and-dad groups, a single mother and kids, a grandma, and a gay male couple and their baby. The urban parks, public transit, and clothing are nonspecific enough to be anywhere, as DiPucchio and Lundquist project an understated vision of diversity. Ages 4–8. Agent: Steven Malk, Writers House. (May)

 
BAM Customer Reviews