Coupon
One Moment
by Kristina Mcbride


Overview - Following on the heels of her "must read" debut novel ("New York Times" best-selling author Jay Asher) "One Moment" is perfect for fans of Sara Zarr and Gayle Forman."
"This was supposed to be the best summer of Maggie's life. Now it's the one she'd do anything to forget.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99
Sorry: This item is not currently available.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 14 copies from $2.99
 
 
 
 

More About One Moment by Kristina Mcbride
 
 
 
Overview
Following on the heels of her "must read" debut novel ("New York Times" best-selling author Jay Asher) "One Moment" is perfect for fans of Sara Zarr and Gayle Forman."
"This was supposed to be the best summer of Maggie's life. Now it's the one she'd do anything to forget.
Maggie remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a blowout party. She remembers climbing the trail with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers that last kiss, soft, lingering, and meant to reassure her. So why can't she remember what happened in the moment before they were supposed to dive? Why was she left cowering at the top of the cliff, while Joey floated in the water below-dead?
As Maggie's memories return in snatches, nothing seems to make sense. Why was Joey acting so strangely at the party? Where did he go after taking her home? And if Joey was keeping these secrets, what else was he hiding?
The latest novel from the author of "The Tension of Opposites," "One Moment" is a mysterious, searing look at how an instant can change everything you believe about the world around you.
Praise for "One Moment"
"Infused with page-turning mystery, "One Moment" is as heartbreakingly real as it is unexpectedly romantic."--Cat Patrick, author of "Forgotten "and "Revived
"""One Moment" took my breath away. Beautifully written, achingly romantic, and so much tension the pages seem like they're turning themselves. One of the best books I've read in ages."--Lauren Barnholdt, author of "Two-Way Street
""""A page-tuner that grabbed me by the throat, and was impossible to put down "--Katrina Kittle, author of "Reasons to Be Happy
""Good, solid drama about the power of secrets to test the bounds of friendship, with just enough tension to satisfy teen readers.""--Kirkus Reviews
""McBride (Th"e Tension of Opposites") skillfully interweaves Maggie's flashes of memory with present action, making for a tense and absorbing psychological mystery."--"Publishers Weekly"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781606840863
  • ISBN-10: 160684086X
  • Publisher: Egmont USA
  • Publish Date: June 2012
  • Page Count: 261
  • Reading Level: Ages 15-UP
  • Dimensions: 1.25 x 5.75 x 8.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.84 pounds


Related Categories

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2012-05-07
  • Reviewer: Staff

Maggie Reynolds is eagerly planning the summer before her senior year, which will include hanging out with her best friends Shannon, Tanna, and Adam, and losing her virginity to Joey, her boyfriend of two years. But when daredevil Joey dies cliff-diving with Maggie and she can’t remember the moment before his fall, an investigation ensues. Initially Maggie blames herself for the accident (“What if one small thing changed? Would we all be hanging out right now, listening to music while Joey laughed at something stupid”), but when Adam refuses to answer questions about the last 24 hours of Joey’s life it becomes clear that both Adam and Joey were hiding something from her. As Maggie’s memories gradually return, she collects clues to uncover the truth. McBride (The Tension of Opposites) skillfully interweaves Maggie’s flashes of memory with present action, making for a tense and absorbing psychological mystery. The dynamics among the tight-knit group of friends are well-drawn, and Maggie’s voice persuasively conveys her guilt, disorientation, and pain as she uncovers her friends’ secrets. Ages 14–up. Agent: Alyssa Eisner Henkin, Trident Media Group. (June)■

 
BAM Customer Reviews