Coupon
The One That Got Away
by Bethany Chase


Overview - Perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, this bright, funny debut from a fresh voice in fiction offers a delicious take on love, family, and what it means to build a home of one s own.

Sarina Mahler thinks she has her life all nailed down: a growing architecture practice in Austin, Texas, and an any-day-now proposal from her loving boyfriend, Noah.
  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $16.00
  • 10% Off for Members Club Price
    $ 14.40

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 21 copies from $7.59
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The One That Got Away by Bethany Chase
 
 
 
Overview
Perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, this bright, funny debut from a fresh voice in fiction offers a delicious take on love, family, and what it means to build a home of one s own.

Sarina Mahler thinks she has her life all nailed down: a growing architecture practice in Austin, Texas, and an any-day-now proposal from her loving boyfriend, Noah. She s well on her way to having the family she s hoped for since her mother s death ten years ago. But with Noah on a temporary assignment abroad and retired Olympic swimmer and former flame Eamon Roy back in town asking her to renovate his new fixer-upper, Sarina s life takes an unexpected turn. Eamon proves to be Sarina s dream client, someone who instinctively trusts every one of her choices and Sarina is reminded of all the reasons she was first drawn to him back in the day. Suddenly her carefully planned future with Noah seems a little less than perfect. And when tragedy strikes, Sarina is left reeling. With her world completely upended, she is forced to question what she truly wants in life and in love.
Full of both humor and heartbreak, The One That Got Away is the story of one woman s discovery that, sometimes, life is what happens when you leave the blueprints behind.
Advance praise for The One That Got Away

A warm, witty, and wise novel, The One That Got Away announces the arrival of a great new voice in fiction. Emily Giffin, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The One and Only
Love can be complicated, and in The One That Got Away, Bethany Chase captures every nuanced beat of a conflicted heart. An authentic and warm voice infuses this story of humor, heartbreak, and home. While Sarina finds her way, we as readers might also find a way back to our own unique lives. Patti Callahan Henry, New York Times bestselling author of And Then I Found You
This perfectly paced story is full of fresh, engaging characters, but Chase s greatest accomplishment is Sarina Mahler. Sarina is so human, her inner world such a compelling mix of guarded and open-hearted, confident and faltering, that through every loss, every funny moment, every blazing triumph I felt completely with her and grateful to be there. Marisa de los Santos, New York Times bestselling author of Falling Together
A] sparkling debut that] packs serious emotional punches . . . This utterly enjoyable romance will have readers swooning, sobbing, and eagerly anticipating Chase s next book. Kirkus Reviews
Bethany Chase is utterly charming and writes about loss with wisdom and heart. Allie Larkin, author of Why Can t I Be You
Don t let this one get away: Chase s debut is fun, romantic, steamy, and populated with heartfelt characters not-to-miss delicious escapism L. Alison Heller, author of The Never Never Sisters
We fell in love with The One That Got Away from the very first page. In her charming debut novel, Bethany Chase reminds us about the one that got away, and makes us wonder what would have happened if he hadn t. Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke, co-authors of Your Perfect Life
The One That Got Away is juicy, steamy, witty, and real. Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of After I Do
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader s Circle for author chats and more."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780804179423
  • ISBN-10: 0804179425
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • Publish Date: March 2015
  • Page Count: 352


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Contemporary Women
Books > Fiction > Romance - Contemporary
Books > Fiction > Literary

 
BAM Customer Reviews