Coupon
The Only Kayak : A Journey Into the Heart of Alaska
by Kim Heacox


Overview - In this coming-of-middle-age memoir, Kim Heacox, writing in the tradition of Abbey, McPhee, and Thoreau, discovers an Alaska reborn from beneath a massive glacier, where flowers emerge from boulders, moose swim fjords, and bears cross crevasses with Homeric resolve.  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $16.95

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 29 copies from $2.99
 
eBook
Retail Price: $15.99
$11.36

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

Download

This item is available only to U.S. and Canada billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About The Only Kayak by Kim Heacox
 
 
 
Overview
In this coming-of-middle-age memoir, Kim Heacox, writing in the tradition of Abbey, McPhee, and Thoreau, discovers an Alaska reborn from beneath a massive glacier, where flowers emerge from boulders, moose swim fjords, and bears cross crevasses with Homeric resolve. In such a place Heacox finds that people are reborn too, and their lives begin anew with incredible journeys, epiphanies, and successes. All in an America free of crass commercialism and overdevelopment.
Braided through the larger story are tales of gold prospectors and the cabin they built sixty years ago; John Muir and his intrepid terrier, Stickeen; and a dynamic geology professor who teaches earth science "as if every day were a geological epoch."
Nearly two million people come to Alaska every summer, some on large cruise ships, some in single kayaks--all in search of the last great wilderness, the Africa of America. It is exactly the America Heacox finds in this story of paradox, love, and loss.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781592288946
  • ISBN-10: 1592288944
  • Publisher: Lyons Press
  • Publish Date: April 2006
  • Page Count: 249
  • Dimensions: 9.02 x 6.08 x 0.79 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.94 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Travel > United States - West - Pacific
Books > Travel > Essays & Travelogues

 
BAM Customer Reviews