Coupon
Optimists Die First
by Susin Nielsen


Overview - Award-winning author Susin Nielsen has written a laugh-out-loud and heartrending novel for fans of Robyn Schneider's Extraordinary Means and Cammie McGovern's Say What You Will .

Beware: Life ahead.
  Read more...

 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 15 copies from $8.52
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Optimists Die First by Susin Nielsen
 
 
 
Overview
Award-winning author Susin Nielsen has written a laugh-out-loud and heartrending novel for fans of Robyn Schneider's Extraordinary Means and Cammie McGovern's Say What You Will.

Beware: Life ahead.

Sixteen-year-old Petula de Wilde is anything but wild. A former crafting fiend with a happy life, Petula shut herself off from the world after a family tragedy. She sees danger in all the ordinary things, like crossing the street, a bug bite, or a germy handshake. She knows: life is out to get you.

The worst part of her week is her comically lame mandatory art therapy class with a small group of fellow misfits. Then a new boy, Jacob, appears at school and in her therapy group. He seems so normal and confident, though he has a prosthetic arm; and soon he teams up with Petula on a hilarious project, gradually inspiring her to let go of some of her fears. But as the two grow closer, a hidden truth behind why he's in the group threatens to derail them, unless Petula takes a huge risk. . .

Praise:
Bank Street Best Children's Books of the Year

"Nielsen writes with sensitivity, empathy, and humor." --Kirkus Reviews, Starred

"Nielsen excels at depicting troubled, clever teenagers in familiar environments." --School Library Journal, Starred

" An] empathic and deeply moving story, balanced by sharply funny narration and dialogue." --Publishers Weekly, Starred

"A poignant exploration into the nuances of healing." --Quill and Quire, Starred

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780553496932
  • ISBN-10: 055349693X
  • Publisher: Ember
  • Publish Date: February 2018
  • Page Count: 256
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP
  • Dimensions: 8 x 5.4 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.45 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Health & Daily Living - Diseases, Illnesses & Injuries
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Humorous - General
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Family - General (see also headings under Social Themes)

 
BAM Customer Reviews