(6)
 
The Outcasts
by John Flanagan

Overview -

From the author of the global phenomenon Ranger's Apprentice
They are outcasts. Hal, Stig, and the others - they are the boys the others want no part of. Skandians, as any reader of Ranger's Apprentice could tell you, are known for their size and strength.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $18.99
  • $14.62
    (Save 23%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 20 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Outcasts by John Flanagan
 
 
 
Overview

From the author of the global phenomenon Ranger's Apprentice
They are outcasts. Hal, Stig, and the others - they are the boys the others want no part of. Skandians, as any reader of Ranger's Apprentice could tell you, are known for their size and strength. Not these boys. Yet that doesn't mean they don't have skills. And courage - which they will need every ounce of to do battle at sea against the other bands, the Wolves and the Sharks, in the ultimate race. The icy waters make for a treacherous playing field . . . especially when not everyone thinks of it as playing. John Flanagan, author of the international phenomenon Ranger's Apprentice, creates a new cast of characters to populate his world of Skandians and Araluens, a world millions of young readers around the world have come to know and admire. Full of seafaring adventures and epic battles, Book 1 of The Brotherband Chronicles is sure to thrill readers of Ranger's Apprentice while enticing a whole new generation just now discovering the books.
Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, T.H. White's The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini's Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780399256196
  • ISBN-10: 0399256199
  • Publisher: Philomel Books
  • Publish Date: October 2011
  • Page Count: 434
  • Reading Level: Ages 10-UP

Series: Brotherband Chronicles #3

Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fantasy & Magic
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Action & Adventure - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2011-10-24
  • Reviewer: Staff

First in the Brotherband Chronicles, a companion series to the bestselling Ranger’s Apprentice books, this nautical adventure from Flanagan takes place in the northern land of Skandia. The story concerns Hal Mikkelson, who’s half Skandian and half—well, it doesn’t really matter. He’s considered a half-breed, an “Araluen weasel,” which means that he has to work twice as hard as others to gain respect. Having turned 16, Hal must join a brotherband, a group of boys whose entire future—and, most importantly, their status as potential crewmembers and raiders on a wolfship—is dependent on how well they compete against other brotherbands, both individually and as a team. Although he’s brilliant, Hal is relegated to a group of castoffs and losers who look to him for leadership. Loosely modeled on Viking culture, the Skandians value courage, seamanship, and brute strength. This enjoyable, old-fashioned tale should have easy appeal for Flanagan’s many fans, who are already invested in the world he’s created. It features relatable though somewhat minimally developed characters, most of whom are clearly identified as either heroes or villains. Ages 10–up. (Nov.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION