Coupon
Outrun the Moon
by Stacey Lee


Overview - From the author of the critically acclaimed Under a Painted Sky, an unforgettable story of determination set against a backdrop of devastating tragedy. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity .

Winner of the PEN Center USA Literary Award for Young Adult
Winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

Fifteen-year-old Mercy Wong is determined to break from the poverty of Chinatown, San Francisco in 1906, and an education at St.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 17 copies from $7.49
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee
 
 
 
Overview
From the author of the critically acclaimed Under a Painted Sky, an unforgettable story of determination set against a backdrop of devastating tragedy. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.

Winner of the PEN Center USA Literary Award for Young Adult
Winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

Fifteen-year-old Mercy Wong is determined to break from the poverty of Chinatown, San Francisco in 1906, and an education at St. Clare's School for Girls is her best hope. Although St. Clare's is off-limits to all but the wealthiest white girls, Mercy gains admittance through a mix of cunning and a little bribery, only to discover that getting in was the easiest part. Not to be undone by a bunch of spoiled heiresses, Mercy stands strong--until disaster strikes.

On April 18, a historic earthquake rocks San Francisco, destroying Mercy's home and school. Now she's forced to wait with her classmates for their families in a temporary park encampment. Though fires might rage, and the city may be in shambles, Mercy can't sit by while they wait for the army to bring help--she still has the "bossy" cheeks that mark her as someone who gets things done. But what can one teenage girl do to heal so many suffering in her broken city?

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780147516916
  • ISBN-10: 0147516919
  • Publisher: Speak
  • Publish Date: May 2017
  • Page Count: 416
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.1 x 5.4 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.8 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Action & Adventure - General
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Historical - United States - 19th Century
Books > Young Adult Fiction > People & Places - United States - Asian American

 
BAM Customer Reviews