Coupon
Owl Sees Owl
by Laura Godwin and Rob Dunlavey


Overview - A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year

"Simple yet stirring, this is perfect for preschooler bedtimes."-- Booklist starred review

Fans of the classic picture book Owl Babies by Martin Waddell and Patrick Benson will adore this utterly simple picture book in which a baby owl goes off on his first adventure.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 26 copies from $6.50
 
 
 
 

More About Owl Sees Owl by Laura Godwin; Rob Dunlavey
 
 
 
Overview
A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year

"Simple yet stirring, this is perfect for preschooler bedtimes."-- Booklist starred review

Fans of the classic picture book Owl Babies by Martin Waddell and Patrick Benson will adore this utterly simple picture book in which a baby owl goes off on his first adventure.

With just three or four words per page, this story follows a baby owl one night as he leaves the safety of his nest (Home/Mama/Brother/Sister) and explores the starry world around him (Soar/Glide/Swoop/Swoosh). Inspired by reverso poetry, the words reverse in the middle when the baby owl is startled upon seeing his reflection in the pond (Owl/Sees/Owl). Afraid of it, little owl takes off toward home, soaring over farms and forests (Swoosh/Swoop/Glide/Soar) until he is finally safely home again (Sister/Brother/Mama/Home).

"Fans of Jane Yolen's Owl Moon and Martin Waddell's Owl Babies will also love this calming story about an owl's first adventure." --School Library Journal, Starred

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780553497823
  • ISBN-10: 0553497820
  • Publisher: Schwartz & Wade Books
  • Publish Date: September 2016
  • Page Count: 40
  • Reading Level: Ages 3-5
  • Dimensions: 10.1 x 8 x 0.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.75 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Animals - Birds
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Nature & the Natural World - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-07-25
  • Reviewer: Staff

A small barn owl embarks on a solo journey by night in this quietly enchanting reverie. Godwin (One Moon, Two Cats) traces the owl’s explorations in a single poem composed of four-line, four-word stanzas: “Home/ Mama/ Brother/ Sister/ Tree/ Nest/ Hop/ Look.” Midway through the owl’s travels, after it has flown past “Fall/ Leaves/ Red/ Yellow” and mice scampering over pumpkins, it spots its own reflection in a stream (“Owl/ Sees/ Owl”), and the poem’s mirrorlike structure is revealed; as the owl returns to its sleeping family, Godwin inverts the stanzas that appeared in the first half of the book, to almost palindromic effect. Working in a variety of media, Dunlavey (Over in the Wetlands) creates a sleepy rural landscape for the owl to traverse, shifting between close-ups of the bird, its white face aglow in the moonlight, and more distant views from above and below. It’s a story that finds a lovely balance between the joys of independence and the comforting security of home. Ages 3–7. Author’s agent: Brenda Bowen, Sanford J. Greenburger Associates. Illustrator’s agent: Elena Giovinazzo, Pippin Properties. (Sept.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews