Painted Ruins
by Grizzly Bear

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About Painted Ruins by Grizzly Bear

Track Listing

1 Wasted Acres
2 Mourning Sound
3 Four Cypresses
4 Three Rings
5 Losing All Sense
6 Aquarian
7 Cut-Out
8 Glass Hillside
9 Neighbors
10 Systole
11 Sky Took Hold

Genre: Rock & Pop
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Release Date: August 2017
  • Label: RCA
  • Format: LP
  • Number of Discs: 2
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "The sound is still ornate -- on 'Glass Hillside,' nylon-string embroidery melts into gilded choirs, with oddball melodies recalling Brit proggers Soft Machine."

Spin - "Throughout the record, words are just pathways through which the melody travels from one sweep to the next..."

Uncut - "[S]tealthy chamber-pop, meticulously pieced together by Messrs Droste, Rossen, Taylor and Bear, where the songs accumulated emotional heft with each listen."

Magnet - "The album is full of anxiety and tension, stocked with woozy melodies that float atop precise rhythms and dramatically calibrated guitars; it foregrounds its attention to detail."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.90) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he elements of PAINTED RUINS suggest that nature is the best solace in crazy times."

Paste (magazine) - "Throughout 11 melancholy tracks, one can feel the end of the world looming. While some of the songs focus on basic tasks or chores, they seem to exist as a way to contend with the disarray of society, almost like meditations."

Clash (Magazine) - "Sinister shades of raw complexity tour the Brooklynites' fifth effort, from the slow crawl of `Wasted Acres' to the glassy elegance of `Three Rings'..."

Customer Reviews