Coupon
P.S. Be Eleven
by Rita Williams-Garcia


Overview -

In this Coretta Scott King Award-winning novel and sequel to the New York Times bestseller and Newbery Honor Book One Crazy Summer , the Gaither sisters return to Brooklyn and find that changes large and small have come to their home.  Read more...


 
In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 70 copies from $3.49
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About P.S. Be Eleven by Rita Williams-Garcia
 
 
 
Overview

In this Coretta Scott King Award-winning novel and sequel to the New York Times bestseller and Newbery Honor Book One Crazy Summer, the Gaither sisters return to Brooklyn and find that changes large and small have come to their home. This extraordinary novel earned five starred reviews, with Publishers Weekly calling it "historical fiction that's as full of heart as it is of heartbreak" and The Horn Book considering it "funny, wise, poignant, and thought-provoking."

After spending the summer in Oakland, California, with their mother and the Black Panthers, Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern arrive home with a newfound streak of independence. The sisters aren't the only ones who have changed. Now Pa has a girlfriend. Uncle Darnell returns from Vietnam a different man. But Big Ma still expects Delphine to keep her sisters in line. That's much harder now that Vonetta and Fern refuse to be bossed around. Besides her sisters, Delphine's got plenty of other things to worry about like starting sixth grade, being the tallest girl in her class, and dreading the upcoming school dance. The one person she confides in is her mother, Cecile. Through letters, Delphine pours her heart out and receives some constant advice: to be eleven while she can.

This extraordinary novel will find a home in the hearts of readers who loved Brown Girl Dreaming and As Brave as You.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780061938641
  • ISBN-10: 0061938645
  • Publisher: Amistad Press
  • Publish Date: January 2015
  • Page Count: 304
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 7.75 x 5.1 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.45 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Multigenerational
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Girls & Women
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Prejudice & Racism

 
BAM Customer Reviews