Paperboy
by Vince Vawter


Overview -

"Reminiscent of "To Kill a Mockingbird."" --"Booklist, " Starred
"An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it " --ROB BUYEA, author of "Because of Mr. Terupt" and "Mr. Terupt Falls Again"
This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of "To Kill a Mockingbird, ""The King's Speech, " and "The Help." A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life.  Read more...


 
Bargain - Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $16.99
  • $4.97
    (Save 70%)
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members

What is a Bargain?
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
 
 
 

Customers Also Bought

More About Paperboy by Vince Vawter
 
 
 
Overview

"Reminiscent of "To Kill a Mockingbird."" --"Booklist, " Starred
"An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it " --ROB BUYEA, author of "Because of Mr. Terupt" and "Mr. Terupt Falls Again"
This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of "To Kill a Mockingbird, ""The King's Speech, " and "The Help." A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life.
Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering--not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend's paper route for the month of July, he's not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it's the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man's life.
A Newbery Honor Award Winner
An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Book
An IRA Children's and Young Adults' Choice
An IRA Teachers' Choice
A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year
A National Parenting Publications Award Honor Book
A "BookPage" Best Children's Book
An ABC New Voices Pick
A Junior Library Guild Selection
An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Recording
An ALA-YALSA Amazing Audiobook
" Vawter's] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic, with . . . his fierce desire to be 'somebody instead of just a kid who couldn't talk right.'" --"The Washington Post"
""Paperboy" offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story." --Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America
" A] tense, memorable story." --"Publishers Weekly, " Starred
"An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age." --"Kirkus Reviews"
"Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult world of a stutterer." --"School Library Journal"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780385742443
  • ISBN-10: 0385742444
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press
  • Publish Date: May 2013
  • Page Count: 240
  • Reading Level: Ages 10-13

Related Categories

 
Customer Reviews