Coupon
The Peddler's Road
by Matthew Cody


Overview - Explodes into a wild fantasy adventure. . . . Cody has begun what promises to be an epic trilogy. Adam Gidwitz, "New York Times" bestselling author of "A Tale Dark and Grimm"
It is said that in the thirteenth century, in a town called Hamelin, a piper lured all of the children away with his magical flute, and none of them were ever seen again.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 1 copy from $10.00
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Peddler's Road by Matthew Cody
 
 
 
Overview
Explodes into a wild fantasy adventure. . . . Cody has begun what promises to be an epic trilogy. Adam Gidwitz, "New York Times" bestselling author of "A Tale Dark and Grimm"
It is said that in the thirteenth century, in a town called Hamelin, a piper lured all of the children away with his magical flute, and none of them were ever seen again.
Today, tough, pink-haired Max and her little brother, Carter, are stuck in modern-day Hamelin with their father . . . until they are also led away by the Piper to a place called the Summer Isle. There they meet the original stolen children, who haven t aged a day and who have formed their own town, vigilantly guarded from the many nightmarish beings that roam the land.
No one knows why the Piper stole them, but Max and Carter may be the key to returning the lost children of Hamelin. Together they set out on the Peddler s Road to find their way back to the real world.
This swashbuckling journey is perfect for fans of "Rump" and "A Tale Dark and Grimm." Don t miss the second adventure in the series, "The Magician s Key" "

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780385755221
  • ISBN-10: 0385755228
  • Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: October 2015
  • Page Count: 368
  • Reading Level: Ages 9-12

Series: Secrets of the Pied Piper #2

Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fantasy & Magic
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fairy Tales & Folklore - Country & Ethnic - General
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Siblings

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-08-24
  • Reviewer: Staff

In this first book in the Secrets of the Pied Piper trilogy, Cody (Villainous) seeks to answer some of the mysteries surrounding the famous legend. Did it actually happen? Who was this enigmatic piper? And what became of the children he led away? The book opens with 10-year-old Carter and his older sister, Max, reacting very differently to their trip to the German town of Hamelin, where their father is researching the folktale. Despite his clubfoot, Carter wants to explore with his sister, while Max would rather sulk and dye her hair pink. After the siblings are magically transported to an enchanted island where the long-missing children from the tale still live, they must embark on a perilous journey to fulfill a prophecy in hopes of returning everyone home. Shifting among various characters’ perspectives, this engaging story introduces a world filled with human-size rats, magicians, kobolds, elves, ghosts, and more. Cody weaves an inventive fantasy that spans time and space in its exploration of the lighter and darker sides of magic. Ages 8–12. Agent: Kate Schafer Testerman, KT Literary. (Oct.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews