Coupon
The Penderwicks on Gardam Street
by Jeanne Birdsall


Overview - With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and "New York Times" bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.
The Penderwick sisters are home on Gardam Street and ready for an adventure But the adventure they get isn't quite what they had in mind.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $16.99
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 15.29

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 75 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Penderwicks on Gardam Street by Jeanne Birdsall
 
 
 
Overview
With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and "New York Times" bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.
The Penderwick sisters are home on Gardam Street and ready for an adventure But the adventure they get isn't quite what they had in mind. Mr. Penderwick's sister has decided it's time for him to start dating--and the girls know that can only mean one thing: disaster. Enter the Save-Daddy Plan--a plot so brilliant, so bold, so funny, that only the Penderwick girls could have come up with it. It's high jinks, big laughs, and loads of family warmth as the Penderwicks triumphantly return.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780375840906
  • ISBN-10: 0375840907
  • Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: April 2008
  • Page Count: 308
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12

Series: Penderwicks (Hardcover)

Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Siblings
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Action & Adventure - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page 138.
  • Review Date: 2008-04-28
  • Reviewer: Staff

This sequel to Birdsall's National Book Award winner, The Penderwicks, has even more charm than the original. The prologue hits the only maudlin note, flashing back to Mrs. Penderwick on her deathbed as she instructs her husband's sister, Claire, to make sure he finds love again after sufficient mourning. The Penderwick sisters—Rosalind, Jane, Skye and Batty—learn of this valediction four years later when Aunt Claire begins arranging blind dates. An emergency MOPS (Meeting of Penderwick Sisters) hatches the Save Daddy plan, in which the girls orchestrate dates so dreadful their father will see widowed life is best. Neighbors on Gardam Street include football-playing brothers Nick and Tommy (the latter plays Tracy to Rosalind's Hepburn), and two newcomers: a widowed professor and her toddler baby. Middle sisters Jane and Skye, who share a room but nothing else, steal the show by swapping homework assignments with hilariously catastrophic results. It's sheer pleasure to spend time with these exquisitely drawn characters, girls so real that readers will feel the wind through their hair as they power down the soccer field. Ages 8–12. (Apr.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews