Coupon
The Penderwicks in Spring
by Jeanne Birdsall and Susan Denaker


Overview - With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.  Read more...

 
Audio Compact Disc - Unabridged
  • $40.00

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 4 copies from $25.76
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Penderwicks in Spring by Jeanne Birdsall; Susan Denaker
 
 
 
Overview
With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street, and there are surprises in store for each member of the family.

Some surprises are just wonderful, like neighbor Nick Geiger coming home from war. And some are ridiculous, like Batty's new dog-walking business. Batty is saving up her dog-walking money for an extra-special surprise for her family, which she plans to present on her upcoming birthday. But when some unwelcome surprises make themselves known, the best-laid plans fall apart.

Filled with all the heart, hilarity, and charm that has come to define this beloved clan, The Penderwicks in Spring is about fun and family and friends (and dogs), and what happens when you bring what's hidden into the bright light of the spring sun.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780553552157
  • ISBN-10: 0553552155
  • Publisher: Listening Library (Audio)
  • Publish Date: March 2015
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 5.9 x 5.1 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.5 pounds

Series: Penderwicks

Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Siblings
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Friendship

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-05-25
  • Reviewer: Staff

In the fourth installment to the Penderwick family series, fifth grader Batty Penderwick is doing her best to be a good big sister to siblings Ben and Lydia, while mourning Hound, her beloved dog. A new music teacher at school discovers Batty's wonderful singing voice, and Batty is anxious to tell her honorary brother Jeffrey (a beloved friend of the family) and perhaps arrange a grand concert for her family on the occasion of her upcoming 11th birthday. Then Batty overhears an argument between her sister Skye and Jeffrey, and all her birthday plans are scrapped as she tries to cope with the enormous emotions the argument brought to light. Birdsall's excellent prose is tremendous and enjoyable, especially when read by Denaker, who gives each of the siblings related yet distinct voices—maternal and grown-up for the eldest, Rosaline; dreamy for Jane; no-nonsense for Skye; and quiet and shy for Batty. Little brother Ben has a nasal twang, and toddler Lydia singsongs her way through life. Hearing Denaker perform them all is a delight. Most impressively, Batty's enormous anguish is embodied in Denaker's assured performance. Ages 8–12. A Knopf hardcover. (Mar.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews